Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
My husband brought this to a potluck. It went so fast! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very good, although I have to admit I did change the recipe a bit. The recipe itself was a great start, and by implementing suggestions from other reviewers, it was outstanding! I realized (after cooking the potatoes) that I didn't have any sour cream, so I softened about 1/3 block of cream cheese and added a few tablespoons of ranch dressing to it. I didn't use the yogurt, either, but I added a tablespoon or so of light mayo, in addition to chives, sea salt, shredded cheese and bacon bits. I served it at room temperature, and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
It was a good starting point. I dislike mayonnaise, so having a potato salad recipe that did not include mayonnaise was nice. However, as is it is fairly bland. I doubled the chives, added half a cup of thinly sliced red onion, and half a packet of ranch dressing mix. This gave a light a flavorful potato salad that I got lots of compliments on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I really like the addition of sourcream to the potato salad however, I substituted mayo for the yogurt as I didn't have any. I have to agree with several others that this recipe is incredibly bland..this is a problem that can be solved very easily though, I added chopped red oniion, parsley, and a little dill to spice it up. Everyone really liked this a lot and it was eaten very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I liked this potato salad but it still lacked flavor. I added crumbled crisp bacon and it gave it a boost. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
It was ok. I might make it again, but would probably try others first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The consistency of this potato salad was good, but I agree with another in that one must make so many changes to it, that you end up with a completely different recipe. The recipe as written is extremely bland! It was a neat idea, kind of like a sour cream and chives baked potato, but the great chives flavor is just overpowered by all of the potato starch and sour cream. I would substitute a flavorful salad dressing such as Miracle Whip for some of the sour cream, and even some sweet pickle relish and yellow mustard to give it a little more flavor. Even with the additions, we had a ton of it leftover, which was then fed to our garbage disposal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I liked this a lot...it's a great low cal/fat potato salad. I must admit though, that I did change the recipe a little. I added grated carrot and I omitted the yogurt (a yogurt hater was eating the salad) and sub'd in light miracle whip. It was great....we'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I agree with several other posters. This is really rather bland. I had to add so many things to this to get my family to eat it, that it created an entirely new recipe. Thanks for the base, but I certainly wouldn't leave it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was very bland. Bacon, onions and cheese would have added a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States