Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
My husband brought this to a potluck. It went so fast! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very good, although I have to admit I did change the recipe a bit. The recipe itself was a great start, and by implementing suggestions from other reviewers, it was outstanding! I realized (after cooking the potatoes) that I didn't have any sour cream, so I softened about 1/3 block of cream cheese and added a few tablespoons of ranch dressing to it. I didn't use the yogurt, either, but I added a tablespoon or so of light mayo, in addition to chives, sea salt, shredded cheese and bacon bits. I served it at room temperature, and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
It was a good starting point. I dislike mayonnaise, so having a potato salad recipe that did not include mayonnaise was nice. However, as is it is fairly bland. I doubled the chives, added half a cup of thinly sliced red onion, and half a packet of ranch dressing mix. This gave a light a flavorful potato salad that I got lots of compliments on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I really like the addition of sourcream to the potato salad however, I substituted mayo for the yogurt as I didn't have any. I have to agree with several others that this recipe is incredibly bland..this is a problem that can be solved very easily though, I added chopped red oniion, parsley, and a little dill to spice it up. Everyone really liked this a lot and it was eaten very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I liked this potato salad but it still lacked flavor. I added crumbled crisp bacon and it gave it a boost. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
It was ok. I might make it again, but would probably try others first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The consistency of this potato salad was good, but I agree with another in that one must make so many changes to it, that you end up with a completely different recipe. The recipe as written is extremely bland! It was a neat idea, kind of like a sour cream and chives baked potato, but the great chives flavor is just overpowered by all of the potato starch and sour cream. I would substitute a flavorful salad dressing such as Miracle Whip for some of the sour cream, and even some sweet pickle relish and yellow mustard to give it a little more flavor. Even with the additions, we had a ton of it leftover, which was then fed to our garbage disposal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I liked this a lot...it's a great low cal/fat potato salad. I must admit though, that I did change the recipe a little. I added grated carrot and I omitted the yogurt (a yogurt hater was eating the salad) and sub'd in light miracle whip. It was great....we'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I agree with several other posters. This is really rather bland. I had to add so many things to this to get my family to eat it, that it created an entirely new recipe. Thanks for the base, but I certainly wouldn't leave it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was very bland. Bacon, onions and cheese would have added a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States