Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a really good potato salad. I went through the reviews and so many people added a bunch of stuff to this like bacon, eggs, cheese. It's a totally different salad at that point. This is meant to be light! I added a little more chives and let it sit overnight. The flavor of the chives really came through. I added a little Miracle Whip for some added zip - not much, just a couple of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I like the yogurt and sour cream mixture, but it was a little bland even after I added some dried dill. Next time I will increase the amount of salt and pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
not enough flavor and texture for potatoe salad. was missing celery, eggs, onions etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrbobajango

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is a simple and plain potato salad but I really liked it.I do think the chives give it flavor, and I like its creaminess. I'm not a big mayo fan, so I liked this better than potato salads made with mayonnaise. It's easy to make and doesn't take much time, either. I do think it would be good with some things added to it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
My husband brought this to a potluck. It went so fast! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very good, although I have to admit I did change the recipe a bit. The recipe itself was a great start, and by implementing suggestions from other reviewers, it was outstanding! I realized (after cooking the potatoes) that I didn't have any sour cream, so I softened about 1/3 block of cream cheese and added a few tablespoons of ranch dressing to it. I didn't use the yogurt, either, but I added a tablespoon or so of light mayo, in addition to chives, sea salt, shredded cheese and bacon bits. I served it at room temperature, and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
It was a good starting point. I dislike mayonnaise, so having a potato salad recipe that did not include mayonnaise was nice. However, as is it is fairly bland. I doubled the chives, added half a cup of thinly sliced red onion, and half a packet of ranch dressing mix. This gave a light a flavorful potato salad that I got lots of compliments on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I really like the addition of sourcream to the potato salad however, I substituted mayo for the yogurt as I didn't have any. I have to agree with several others that this recipe is incredibly bland..this is a problem that can be solved very easily though, I added chopped red oniion, parsley, and a little dill to spice it up. Everyone really liked this a lot and it was eaten very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I liked this potato salad but it still lacked flavor. I added crumbled crisp bacon and it gave it a boost. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
It was ok. I might make it again, but would probably try others first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States