Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made this and brought it to a party and got rave reviews! Had to send the recipe to lots of my friends afterwards. It was so easy to make. I added a few spices (but still kept it low fat): 1 Tablespoon of red wine vinegar, 2 chopped up hard boiled eggs, 2 chopped stalks of celery, shake of celery salt, onion powder, salt & pepper. I might even add some dijon mustard next time. Loved not having mayonnaise in it!! So much healthier with the yogurt. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used leftover boiled red potatoes, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I think this is a good, basic recipe. Some tips for those looking to add flavor: salt the cooking water for your potatoes. Like salting pasta water, it can give the potatoes some seasoning. I used fat free plain greek yogurt and full fat sour cream for the dressing. I also added the juice of half a lemon (1 tbsp) to the dressing to add some brightness and to loosen it up--my mix had the consistency of a dip before I added the juice. I also looked at the other reviews and added some fresh dill and 1 tbsp Dijon mustard (although I think regular would work as well). It made a very good, light, and flavorful vegetarian side dish. I might add in more mustard and some homemade bacon bits the next time I make it and eat it as a cool summer main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I didn't use the yogart, but I added Deli style Mustard , Boars Head which has white wine in it apx 1 tbl spoon. Also Bacon bits added when serving to keep crunchy. Was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Needs more salt and herbs. Definitely better after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
We didn't have the full amount of chives, but it was still tasty the yogurt gives a nice tang. We used a seasoned salt and a little parsley too. I think anything that tastes good on a baked potato would taste good added to this salad. Especially good salad for those that don't like mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was good, added the fresh dill, half cup of celery and sweet onions. 1 teaspoon garlic powder and also a dash of season salt. We are trying to limit salt intake so people can salt to taste. It is really good and I also am not a mayo guy, to satisfy the boss it also got a tablespoon of mayo but it is just creamy and tangy and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This needed alot of help seasoning wise. It was much better after a lot of ft ixing!,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Just made this salad, and can't stop sampling before dinner! I didn't have any more yogurt so used mayo with the sour cream, loved this recipe! I put in plenty of fresh cracked pepper! Thanks, this is just what I was looking for tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette
Home Town: Hawarden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Sure, it's not Bursting flavors, but I really love the simplicity of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States