Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used leftover boiled red potatoes, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I think this is a good, basic recipe. Some tips for those looking to add flavor: salt the cooking water for your potatoes. Like salting pasta water, it can give the potatoes some seasoning. I used fat free plain greek yogurt and full fat sour cream for the dressing. I also added the juice of half a lemon (1 tbsp) to the dressing to add some brightness and to loosen it up--my mix had the consistency of a dip before I added the juice. I also looked at the other reviews and added some fresh dill and 1 tbsp Dijon mustard (although I think regular would work as well). It made a very good, light, and flavorful vegetarian side dish. I might add in more mustard and some homemade bacon bits the next time I make it and eat it as a cool summer main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I didn't use the yogart, but I added Deli style Mustard , Boars Head which has white wine in it apx 1 tbl spoon. Also Bacon bits added when serving to keep crunchy. Was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Needs more salt and herbs. Definitely better after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
We didn't have the full amount of chives, but it was still tasty the yogurt gives a nice tang. We used a seasoned salt and a little parsley too. I think anything that tastes good on a baked potato would taste good added to this salad. Especially good salad for those that don't like mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was good, added the fresh dill, half cup of celery and sweet onions. 1 teaspoon garlic powder and also a dash of season salt. We are trying to limit salt intake so people can salt to taste. It is really good and I also am not a mayo guy, to satisfy the boss it also got a tablespoon of mayo but it is just creamy and tangy and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This needed alot of help seasoning wise. It was much better after a lot of ft ixing!,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Just made this salad, and can't stop sampling before dinner! I didn't have any more yogurt so used mayo with the sour cream, loved this recipe! I put in plenty of fresh cracked pepper! Thanks, this is just what I was looking for tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette
Home Town: Hawarden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Sure, it's not Bursting flavors, but I really love the simplicity of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I hate mayo (and Miracle Whip) and eggs so this was perfect! The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I thought it was a little bland as is. I added more chives, dill, a little mustard, and some pickle relish and it was great! I keep going back for bites. Husband liked it too. He said it was good but I think he misses the mayo and eggs...too bad! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States