Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this last month with fresh peppers from the local farmer's market! It was great. I seared some dry pack sea scallops and served them right a top the soup. Great meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My husband and I both liked this soup. I agree with other reviewers that the soup needed more flavor beyond the original recipe, so I added 1/4 tsp cayenne. This definitely added some spice, so next time I might start with 1/8 tsp and then add more to taste. I also added 1/4 tsp dried basil and used an extra clove of garlic. I mixed 1/4 cup water and 1/8 cup flour and whisked into soup to thicken it a bit. Like others, I roasted/boiled the red peppers as suggested, used an immersion blender and did not strain. Soup is good served with a dense bread or grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was the worst recipe I have made from this website so far. The soup didn't really have any flavor to it. I added carrots, tomato, celery and mushrooms to make it a little tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Followed other reviewers suggestion to roast the peppers before hand. What a flavorful soup with so little ingredients! I substituted half and half for cream....honestly it didn't even need that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
easy and tastes great. Easy on the stomach too if you have trouble eating peppers. I used less cream out of preference and still tastes wonderful. I make this soup all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was great! I did sub fat free half and half. It needed some parmesan cheese on top, though. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
A good basic recipe, but seemed to lack depth of flavor. I did roast the red peppers in the oven as others have suggested; also added some cayenne, freshly ground black pepper, a pinch of allspice and fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream. It definitely needed some salt, which I added. As others have suggested, I pureed the roasted red peppers with the sauteed garlic and onion in the blender and then added chicken stock to the puree in the pot. I think this was much better than trying to puree hot liquids in the blender. I also had an issue with the soup having a rather bitter taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is a very nice soup and quite easy to make. I do agree with another review though, there is just a little something missing that would make all the difference, it is so very mild, very smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is an awesome soup! I didn't have heavy cream so I used half and half. Also, added a little cornstarch/water to thicken it. I love this soup! Thanks for sharing it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischiviex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
there's sth missing... the recipe gives a great base, but the flavor isn't strong enough... I still haven't figured out what to add.. maybe cumin or masala... or simply more garlic or black pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States