Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Tasty! I only had 3 peppers, so I only used about 3/4 onion & tossed in 10-12 grape tomatoes that I needed to use up. I also peeled & diced a potato that I added. I used vegetable broth, omitted the heavy cream, & added a pinch of thyme. I like a bit of chunkiness in my soup, so I didn't strain it once I pureed it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
fantastic soup with rave reviews by everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Good, simple recipe. My husband and I are trying to shed a few pounds after the holidays, so I used only a pat of butter, and substituted reduced fat buttermilk for the heavy cream (added 3/4 c. instead of just 1/2 c.). We thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Overall, a very tasty bowl of soup. I made a couple of changes, principally to improve the healthy aspects of the soup. I used light butter instead of regular butter, and instead of using the cream, I used half as much half n half and an equal amount of lowfat milk. When tasting, I realized that the soup was rather sweet to taste, so much so that I added salt and pepper, as well as a dash of cayenne to balance out the sweetness. Very good and very healthy with my minor changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
mmm mmm good. I opted to use a variety of pepper (green, red and orange), which I roasted. I also used bullion cubes instead of broth...the soup is delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I changed this recipe...a lot!... but the end result was great. I started by roasted 6 red peppers instead of 4. Roasting makes the falvours come out and its very quick and easy. I then followed the first steos of the recipes and used a sweet onion. after adding the borth and pureed red pepper I took a taste test and decided not to add any milk or cream and added the salt, pepper and thyme...the thyme is what made the soup amazing!!. I simmered for a very long time and then strained it one more time, this time through a cheesecloth, making sure everything was completely smooth. The little chunks that were caught were blended one more time and added back in. It took a little more time but it made the soup all that much better. Time and Thyme made this recipe a new favourite for me! Thanks for the base! *EDIT: I remade this again today and this time pureed the peppers, onion and garlic after they cooked. This eliminated having to puree/strain again...a big time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
What a delicious soup! I made it exactly as the recipe says and I wouldn't change a thing! :) But I didn't get 4 servings....it was more like 3. So next time, I will double it for leftovers! And try it with cornbread...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
this was awesome. I followed others with roasting the peppers. I also, used my food processor and magic bullet to blend the items together. I didn't have a hand held one. I will be making this again. Thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
sooo yummy! I followed the recipe to the T...until I got to the cream...I boiled 4 small red potatoes with the peppers, onions and garlic and then creamed it all together in my blend tec... Amazing. I did add 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1/2 tsp sage. I broiled the peppers until tender. Such a delightful taste. i will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Grover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe! You can also use roasted red peppers in the jar. I did this using one jar and cut the other ingredients in half. If you were making a full recipe, I would use at least 2 jars of roasted red peppers. The flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States