Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This soup is amazing. I love it. So healthy. There is no reason NOT to roast the peppers in the oven though, its a must. Just put them in whole on a baking pan at 450 for about 40 minutes, turning halfway. Let cool and the skin falls off, and easy to seed. Yum Yum YUM! Always serve with fresh bread or garlic rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This soup is amazing. I've made it a few times, making it vegetarian by subbing vegetarian vegetable stock for the chicken stock. The last time I made the soup, I made it vegan by adding in two small red potatoes in step 2 (the starch does a great job of mimicking the cream), and omitting the cream in step 3. Overall, this is a recipe you can bank on, with great versatility for other vegetable soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASHKAYDOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great recipe! Great flavours! Definitely going to make it again and will double or triple it next time as I found it only made 3-4 servings. I cooked the onions until really soft and almost browned - I think this added amazing flavour. I added a tsp or so of fresh thyme to the sauteing onions, garlic and red peppers. I only used 3 peppers because the 4th pepper didn't look great. I also used 1/2 cup 10% cream as I felt it would be too creamy with full fat. Could even skip the cream as it's delicious without it and would keep the red pepper flavours strong. I used powdered bouillon chicken stock because that's what I had on hand and I think it was tastier than regular stock. I found straining it difficult and messy but that could be because I have a really small sieve. Blending it was easy with my hand blender. My hubby really loved this soup and dipping pumpernickel bread into it. Great for a cold day/evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Great, but mild pepper flavor. Followed other suggestions and roasted the bell peppers under the broiler first, and then followed the recipe. Also used an immersion blender instead of putting soup into a blender, and after putting through the chinoise had a very silky, smooth soup. Solid recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe. I added salt, used 2 small/med onions, added a splash of balsamic and used 1/2 roasted red peppers 1/2 non-roasted peppers (for added flavor). Will definitely make this again! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Fabulous!! The only changes I made were: I used roasted red pepper from a jar (all I had on hand) and I added about 2 cups of chicken broth in addition to what was called for. Easy and a must make! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Im not a soup person but live this so much. I have made it a few times with this recipe and its just as delicious if you use regular cream that you would but in your coffee and then a tablespoon or cream cheese for every rep pepper you use. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
NEEDS salt, used half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have to admit, I'm new enough to have never heard of red pepper soups, but indeed, the recipe is simple and easy to execute, and completely delicious. The only addition I made were a few chunks of ham, mostly for sweetness and substance. It came out amazingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I've been making this wonderful soup for years and everytime I eat it I feel I'm drinking pure vitamins! I strain the soup after I blend it just to get a nice silky soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States