Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
there's sth missing... the recipe gives a great base, but the flavor isn't strong enough... I still haven't figured out what to add.. maybe cumin or masala... or simply more garlic or black pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dasunrisin
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Very good. I didn't strain it, I roasted the peppers (would have been just fine unroasted), I added a dash of cayenne and a jalapeño. Thank you for this awesome summer recipe. I'm very proud of the results-- it would be delicious cold as well as hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasunrisin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Thanks for the idea! This is a great recipe and you can add other flavors to it if desired. I used evap milk instead and added a teaspoon of chili paste for some heat. Also added a handful of fresh spinach to the food processor when blending. Great color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juicy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This soup is fantastic...had a ton of frozen peppers from last season and used those. Doubled it and left out the cream but did add a couple of yukon potatos and added dried red chili pepper. Used the immerson blender. Sipping on it right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I did not roast the peppers but I think I will next time. It was still very good I served it in bread bowls. (a recipe I got from this site) It went over very well at one of my girl's nights, next time I also would like to try sprinkling feta before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSS333

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This soup is AWESOME...but instead of using regular chicken broth I used Thai Coconut Curry chicken broth and it was SO flavorful! I added shredded Romano cheese also. It did the trick, my husband requested again the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I loved this soup. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken and fat free half and half instead of cream. I don't have a hand blender so I pureed it in batches in my regular blender with no problem. I also didn't strain it. Very yummy and simple, but not bland. We served it with salad and "Double Tomato Bruschetta" from this site and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Love this soup as a base I can dress up. I added a little dill, a little cider vinegar and a dash of splenda to make a great low-carb soup. Didn't peel the peppers- just used my immersion blender and probably upped the fiber content a bit. My husband can't get enough of this. And boy does it taste great the next day. Just like stuffed peppers without the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great soup. The changes I made are that I use vegetable broth, roast the peppers, add two carrots and two yellow roasted peppers to thicken and sweeten the soup, and some herbs (basil and/or Italian) and use half and half instead of heavy cream. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I hate straining, so I roast my red peppers, skin them, then puree 'til smooth. To roast: rub oil on peppers, put under broiler until blackened on all sides (for me, roughly 8 min per side). Put in a sealed tupperware container for 15 min, peel skin & core. Cut into strips for pureeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States