Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Made it with yellow pepper, turned out really good. I froze leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Corbyzgirl
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
NEVER PUT HOT LIQUIDS IN A BLENDER! Some of you might get away with it, depending on the actual temperature and your particular blender, but others will have an explosion of hot liquids all over yourself and your kitchen. Use an immersion blender, or cook the veggies and puree separately, before adding broth, but even then you still need to be careful. Regarding the varieties of opinions about the flavor: the key to this soup is to start with quality ingredients. Some of the most beautiful-looking peppers at the big grocery store have almost no flavor, when compared to those ugly ones you might find at the farmer's market or grow yourself. Add a handful of fresh spices (I used basil and some chives, and a bit of dried paprika as well) and you'll also see a marked improvement. You might also consider making this a day ahead, letting it cool, refrigerating it overnight (right in the pot if you have room in your fridge) and then reheating before eating it the next day, to bring out more of the individual flavors. The soup I ended up with was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
At first we thought it was a little too sweet so I added more garlic cayenne and some salt. I also roasted the peppers first. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Roast 6+ peppers ahead of time in a 450 degree oven, 20 minutes on each side. Peel the skins off once cooled. Add a little thyme and an extra onion. Serve with feta, a touch of balsamic glaze and a good baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
2 cans chicken stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Super tasty! Didn't roast peppers long enough though - they need to be blackened, semi black doesn't get the skin all off!Plus I added too much spice & found it a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Easy and quick only thing is I'm lactose I actually liked it without creme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Great soup! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I actually made quite a few changes, which in my opinion, made it much better! 1. I roasted the peppers in the oven first- simply placed them whole on a tray at abut 400 degrees, flipping them over once. They're ready once they become a bit black and the skin starts to peel. 2. I used half the butter and olive oil for the other half- I sautéed grated carrot and celery along with the onion and garlic, then added the roasted peppers before adding the broth 3. After simmering, I blended it together right in the pot, no need to transfer or strain 5. Then add the cream (I used light cream, but more than the recipe indicates) and I also added some parmesan cheese 6. I added salt, pepper, thyme, oregano and a small amount of cayenne then let it simmer a bit longer so all the flavours can blend together It was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this dish and we absolutely loved it! I wish it was a bit thicker.. any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is my kids long time favorite soup. I made a few adjustments. I grill the whole peppers and onion first. I peel the blackened skin off the peppers, but I first puncture the grilled pepper to drain the fluids that build up inside to use in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States