Red Pepper Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Good start, but I had to tweak it a lot. I roasted the red pepper according to the food network recipe- 500 F for 40 minutes with rotating the pepper every 10 minutes. I also added some chicken and sauteed it with the onions before putting in the rest of the ingredients. I used home made chicken stock, and used enough to cover all if the indigents. I had used my slow cooker, so I browned everything first and then put it on high for 3 hours. Didn't change the amount of spices and art the end, the soup had a hint of sweetness and some spicy flavors from the black peppers. Eating as a main meal, really only 4 servings for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow! I totally love this soup! A hint of unusual flavor from the spices in it simply makes it exceptional. Easy enough to make, too, though there's a fair amount of chopping. It definitely took the hour to make that was indicated. Serve with bread, and you are good to go on a cool night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This just O.K. for me. The cinnamon and nutmeg didn't taste right in this soup. It did taste better the 2nd day. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I've made this several times and will be serving it ruth out Christmas Eve meal this year. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Unique and edible, but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this soup with beef stock, without onion and without sage. I halved the recipe as I cooked it in the crockpot. Came home and pureed it with a hand held mixer just before I served it with buttered bread. It wasn't as sweet as I expected, but was very tasty nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I loved this soup! I great blend of flavours. Would love to make this when guests are over. I would put in less butter next time because once the soup starts to lose water content a layer of oil comes to the top which is unattractive. My 11 year old brother isn't a fan of red peppers and refused to eat them so I put his bowl into the Magic Bullet and made it into a shake for him. If you have young kids who don't want to eat the veggies and you want to hide the goods, a hand blender would work well too; right into the pot. My mom thought it would be a smart idea to put grated cheese into the soup: NOT RECOMMENDED! It stuck right to the bottom. But over all, YUMMY soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe is wonderful. My husband ate 4 helpings and the baby ate it too! Great for a cold night. I didn't have celery, nutmeg or sage so I used only 6 cups of chicken broth. I may try it in full next time but maybe not. I was really proud of this meal without all of that. Very good soup! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Awesome recipe. Used it in one of the kitchens as a special...turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinobousquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This soup is surprisingly tasty for being a meatless meal. I was hesitant about the cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger, but followed the recipe's instructions, and the end product isn't "too" any of that. It's just right. Interestingly, I believe the "sweet" spices are what adds the "comfort" to this soup--there IS something unidentifiably "homey" about the flavor, and I'm pretty sure it's the sweet spices. As far as changes went: I reduced the butter, reduced the salt, and added 5 oz. fresh spinach at the end after I removed the soup from the heat, simply because it needed to go. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States