Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I was in a hurry and distracted by the kids when I made this so didn't follow the directions exactly. I threw all the ingredients in the pan and boiled/simmered. Substitutions & additions: multi colored peppers, milk & butter instead of cream, oven roasted garlic and asparagus, steamed broccoli and peas. Served over cheese tortellini. Tasty, fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My family loved it! I added all the ingredients at one time but omitted the lemon juice. ( I forgot). I also had light cream instead of heavy. It took about 30 mins to reduce and was still thick. I had cheese tortellini and grill PERDUE short cuts. Tossed it all together and served with garlic bread. Definitely will make again. This will stay in rotation .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheelah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This sauce is quite yummy but too mild tasting using all fresh red bell peppers, so I like to use one large fresh and two roasted (from a jar). Since I don't buy white pepper I just use a few grinds of black. I sub red pepper flakes for the cayenne and only put in 1/2 tsp. of salt. In addition, I add a couple cloves of minced fresh garlic. I add all spices right at the beginning, in with the cream and bell peppers. When it's done simmering I use an immersion blender and then stir in the lemon juice. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I have made this several times. It is now the only requested sauce for ravioli in my house. I use 6 peppers and 1 quart of half & half, add fresh minced garlic and extra cayenne. Use the immersion blender and it has the perfect consistency - the extra peppers help a lot. Top off with fresh basil, sauteed mushrooms and parmesan. This is really a great starter recipe - add whatever suits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Very bland. Added some tomatoes, red wine and extra cayenne pepper but still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was REALLY simple to make and very tasty. I made my own Italian "sausage" out of ground turkey and spices to give the meal a little more "heft." It was very filling and very good; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
amazing! I added extra cayenne pepper for more spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Did not have enough red peppers so used an orange instead of one of red, hoping that was the reason for the bland taste - had to add lots of Tabasco and red pepper flakes to dress it up. Not sure if I will, but if I make it again, will definitely have to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Wow, amazing. I had low expectations for this, I tried several times at making a different red pepper cream sauce from this site and was not a fan. I'm so glad that I tried this one! I forgot red bell peppers when I went to the grocery store but had a jar of roasted red peppers so I used that instead (it had 2 peppers in it). I also wanted to make this a bit lower in calories so I used half skim milk the rest half and half in place of the cream. Used hot paprika too. This one is going in the fav's folder, thanks so much for the recipe:) Edit 10/20/11, I recently made this recipe again using fresh red bell peppers, I must say that I really enjoyed this sauce more the last time that I made it using the roasted red peppers, they really enhance the flavor. This sauce is amazing either way though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States