Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Very tasty. This recipe will vary in taste and heat according to your curry paste. Notes about lentils: I have never cooked lentils before so I thought I would share some tips for others like me. First off, they are very small so don't try to use a strainer with larger holes (Yes, I know this is obvious). Rinse them well until the water runs clear. Wet lentils stick to everything! Try to get them in the right pot the first time. I found a spatula was good for transferring them. Red lentils cook fast! I boiled mine for 2 mins then simmered for about 8 mins. At that point they were mostly tender. I transferred them into the sauce, mixed well and let them finish cooking. They didn't get too mushy like many people have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I have never sent a review for any recipe that I have tried. But, this recipe deserves one! It is excellent. I used fresh tomatoes and then put them into the caramelized onions. I also simmered all the spices together in a little oil, as taught to me by an Indian cook. Then, tossed in the garlic and ginger; continued for about 1 more minute. Afterwards, I put the tomato and onions into the spice mix. Then, added the lentils... AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I can't believe I never reviewed this recipe. I've been making it once a week for a long time now - it's excellent. The ONLY thing I changed with the recipe was to replace the tomato puree with one can of Muir Glen Fire Roasted Chopped Tomatoes. It gives it a much better texture and the fire roasted tomatoes just add another level of flavor that regular tomatoes don't. I can't believe how many people are making this without curry paste. It's the most important ingredient in a curry. I serve it with jasmine rice and hot naan. Oh, and don't be alarmed if the lentils look rather mushy before you add them to the spices and tomatoes. You haven't done anything wrong, and they'll still taste just as good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This was really good! I changed a few things... I didn't have any ginger root or curry paste, so I used 1tb of ginger and 1 (extra) TB of curry, also I added a bit more salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Quite good. I've found that the red lentils take about 20-25 minutes to cook thoroughly (no pre-soaking, just rinsing) with the lid slightly ajar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe... My spin on it is to add a tablespoon of butter to the simmer in the last step, only use fresh chopped tomatoes, and double the garlic.. I added this mixture to the red lentils and also 10 jumbo shrimp. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I don't usually bother with reviewing, but this was fantastic. I used 1/2 the salt and tomato paste with water. I tossed in good quality frozen green peas to add a little more nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I cut this recipe in half, it cooked up great. The flavors are the perfect blend of savory, spicy, and aromatic. My 15 year old son enjoyed it and had seconds. I served it with steamed finely shredded cabbage to which I added two carrots (grated)and salt and pepper, not much water. Two went together nicely and this was pretty easy to prepare. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Although different from other dahls I have made, this one is good. I added some cardamom and served it with spinach and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made this last night and my whole family, including my 18-month old grandson, loved it. Beware.........it is very filling! I over ate to the point of discomfort after loading up a big soup mug, and eating it with a heavy rustic bread and a big salad. I did what was suggested by others........I doubled the garlic and sauteed the spices in a little oil, then added the ginger and garlic and sauteed for another minute before adding it all to the onions. Then I added the tomato puree and simmered it all together for awhile before adding the lentils. My house smelled extremely pungent all afternoon and evening..........and I teach piano full time in my home........haha!! I thought the consistency was just right after adding only about 1/2 cup of the water left in the saucepan from the cooked lentils. I would like to add that Allrecipes has changed my cooking life dramatically. I can find more ethnic dishes to try than ever before, and I make my final selections based on the reviews. This is such a low-risk and wonderful way to try new dishes, and the recipes are all in a FREE "cookbook" loaded with ratings and suggestions! I'm having a ball treating my family to the tasty results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianojan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States