Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Would be better with chick peas and losing the sugar. I added jalepanos and a green bell pepeper, and a lot more curry, tumeric, garlic, chili powder and cumin (and even some cumin seed) to try and get this recipe tasting like real indian food. Fresh tomatoes would help this dish too, but that takes time... Still a great place to start for Amerifats who want to branch out with their cultural dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Great recipe! I cooked the lentils in coconut water and used hot curry and the result is a delicious sweet and spicy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Delicious and super easy. I love makeing masoor dal and this was a great change up with the red curry paste. I too adjusted a few thing according to my taste preferance...extra ginger and garlic and like another reviewer I used diced tomatoes and some frozen peas. Served with homemade whole wheat naan bread and wild rice. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela McGovern
Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was a really good lentil curry. The curry paste I used was quite hot, so I will probably tone it down just a little next time. I also added some mushrooms, courgettes, and chickpeas for fun, and some fresh cilantro on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was a very easy and tasty way to use up the red lentils I had! I didn't have curry paste, so I looked up substitutes and found out that curry pastes aren't actually used in Indian cooking (which was the taste I was going for). So, I made a few substitutions: instead of the curry paste, garlic and ginger, I added some vegetable curry powder (in addition to the curry powder already called for) and a double dose of ginger-garlic paste (which I had in the fridge). I also did not add as much tomato paste because I use the tube stuff that you can keep in the fridge. My curry came out very thick, but I could have just added some water to make it more sauce-like. Mine was also spicy even with just a pinch of the Indian chili powder I had, so I will probably omit that next time to make it more kid-friendly (although for others it will depend on the potency of your spices...mine were straight from India and very spicy). It was very quick, easy, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Thank you for this recipe. Great twist for the red lentils and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is a great lentil recipe! I did not change a thing, very rustic in flavor and not as spicy as you would think. I have made this 3 times now and just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t.rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Incredible, I didn't use curry paste though but tomato paste with water and a little more curry powder. I even made it again with rice instead of lentils - equally as good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetic_thing

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
If you are new to Indian cooking; have been intimidated by complicated recipes, this is a great starter curry. A fairly quick, simple, healthful, basic red lentil curry; all ingredients can be found in most larger grocery stores. Since lentils cook quickly, after bringing to a rolling boil, and simmering approximately 10 minutes, it's helpful to have your spices, etc., measured out before beginning the lentils. After rinsing in a bowl with water until clear, I substituted low-sodium chicken broth to cook the lentils, in a 1:2 ratio, and did not need to drain excess broth. From there it's only a few simple steps. Easily expanded upon, with the addition of meat, or tofu, potatoes, carrots, or peas, the layered spices can be adjusted to deliver more or less heat. Served over Jasmine Rice, I found the flavor to be comparable to a mild-medium curry from my favorite local Indian restaurant, without the heavy oils/coconut milk. All in all a delicious, nutritious, straightforward Indian red lentil curry recipe, perfect for beginners, or seasoned Indian foodies alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, and it is delicious! I have made adjustments though. I find that I like it better with fresh tomato puree. I'll either use fresh tomatos and puree them in my blender, or I use a can of diced tomatos. I also like it a bit on the spicier side, so I'll add a small hot pepper in. I've also put quinoa in with it before, or garbanzo beans. I really like it with the garbanzo beans. It adds a little variety rather than just having lentils. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States