Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jc812
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was delicious and tasted truly Indian! I did not have curry paste, and subbed it for 1TB more of the curry powder. I was too lazy to mince my ginger root and so used 1TB of ginger powder. To add to the richness, I sautéed the onions in coconut oil and vegetable oil. I didn't have enough lentils so used half green, half red lentils and I think it worked out well. I started the green lentils in the book for 10 min, then added the red lentils for 20 minutes. The red lentils cooked quickly and broke down after 20 minutes, but the green lentils kept its shape. I think 20 minutes may be too long for the red lentils. I quite liked the red lentils because they add a texture that the green lentils would not have been able to provide.... So do make sure to use the red! For an extra kick, I added 1 Tsp of cayenne. This is versatile, as my husband needs meat every once in a while, I was able to put cubed chicken breasts into the stir fry after adding the spices. This worked well. I served over brown rice and added cilantro. So delicious and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Incredible. The only change I made was diced tomatoes instead of pureed as it was what I had on hand and I didn't measure the oil and probably used closer to 2-3 TBSP. I will be making this often. An important plus for me is it was quick and easy to make but it taste like you slaved away in the kitchen. btw served it with rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Loved this recipe! Although I didn't use the entire 2 cups of lentils suggested since I like my curry to be pretty saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
So so sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I've made this about once a week for close to a year now and just forgot to rate it. It is very good as is. If you really want to add another filling ingredients, cube a potato or two and throw it in with it. It's a vegan meal all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Delicious! I don't know how the consistency of lentils is supposed to be but all the flavors are delicious! I love it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Wonderful! I omit the curry paste since my four young boys don't do spice well, and it's still wonderful! I took another's review into consideration and only simmer the lentils for eight minutes, I've also added a can of fire-roared
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was delicious and very easy to make! I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I guess I have plain curry because I needed to add a little more spice. But my family ate it without complaint. Next time I'll mix in some peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe can be eaten as a side, or a main dish. I serve at potlucks with fresh veggies. Can also use naan for dipping, or serve over rice. Top it off with plain yogurt, too. One of my favorite go-to recipes for company and get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States