Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Delish!! Added some potatoes and red diced bell peppers! Made this an hour ago with eston lentils and it issuper good. Didn't have any tomate paste but had some V8 laying around so I used this instead! Very flavorful and a perfect vegetarian meal. Topped it off with some sriracha sauce and served it on a bed of basmati jasmin rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nogoidea
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I tried it right now. Amazing success within the family. Really can't add much to that. It is mushy, and we love it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This is a delicious recipe that I have used over and over! I don't always use the red lentils, either. This is a delicious base for any curry: i often use a combo of cauliflower, sweet potatoes and carrots. Sometimes I throw in a chicken breast and let it simmer in all that goodness! Chickpeas are something you can add as well. Another addition I make to add to the richness is coconut milk or coconut cream. Even if you don't have the curry paste, give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was fantastic! I too did most everything the same but doubled the spices and cooked them desperate for a minute in oil first then added to rice with the garlic and ginger. I didn't have tomato puree on hand so I pureed two roma tomatoes and added 4 diced as well for more body. I am eating it again leftover for lunch and yes, it still rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
this was a wonderful, quick meal. Popped the rice in the rice cooker and by the time it was done the curry was too. I would say it needs a lot more salt, maybe 2 tsp to a tablespoon total. It is stupendous with cilantro on top and a hearty teaspoon of Ghee. Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Would be better with chick peas and losing the sugar. I added jalepanos and a green bell pepeper, and a lot more curry, tumeric, garlic, chili powder and cumin (and even some cumin seed) to try and get this recipe tasting like real indian food. Fresh tomatoes would help this dish too, but that takes time... Still a great place to start for Amerifats who want to branch out with their cultural dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Great recipe! I cooked the lentils in coconut water and used hot curry and the result is a delicious sweet and spicy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Delicious and super easy. I love makeing masoor dal and this was a great change up with the red curry paste. I too adjusted a few thing according to my taste preferance...extra ginger and garlic and like another reviewer I used diced tomatoes and some frozen peas. Served with homemade whole wheat naan bread and wild rice. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was a really good lentil curry. The curry paste I used was quite hot, so I will probably tone it down just a little next time. I also added some mushrooms, courgettes, and chickpeas for fun, and some fresh cilantro on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was a very easy and tasty way to use up the red lentils I had! I didn't have curry paste, so I looked up substitutes and found out that curry pastes aren't actually used in Indian cooking (which was the taste I was going for). So, I made a few substitutions: instead of the curry paste, garlic and ginger, I added some vegetable curry powder (in addition to the curry powder already called for) and a double dose of ginger-garlic paste (which I had in the fridge). I also did not add as much tomato paste because I use the tube stuff that you can keep in the fridge. My curry came out very thick, but I could have just added some water to make it more sauce-like. Mine was also spicy even with just a pinch of the Indian chili powder I had, so I will probably omit that next time to make it more kid-friendly (although for others it will depend on the potency of your spices...mine were straight from India and very spicy). It was very quick, easy, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States