Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I am in love with this recipe! I have been making Easy Masoor Daal (also on this site) for years but was looking for other ideas for red lentils. This is so easy. I recommend investing in a mesh strainer for rinsing lentils. I have one that I bought during my quinoa obsession and it works great for both. Get one that is small enough to invert directly into the pot you'll be cooking your lentils so you can just bang it against the sides of the pot to release the lentils rather than dealing with spoons. As another reviewer pointed out, wet lentils stick to everything! I served this with plain yogurt for my kids to tone it down a bit. Next time I'll remember the cilantro and I will see if I can find Indian red curry paste. I used Thai, which was fine, but this is an Indian recipe so I want to see if it can be even better. Thank you to the reviewer who suggested doing this in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
to change this to an Ethiopian dish omit curry pest and powder cook the garlic and ginger(minced)with the onion don't cook the lintels separately just add it to the simmering onion mix and add a cup or more water depending how soft you want them to be enjoy over enjera!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W/Ro Meheret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made as written... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This recipe is excellent! I've never cooked Indian food (although I like to eat it) so I was a bit nervous. The only cooking change I made was to saute the spices with the oil before adding the onions. This infused the oil with the spice flavor and released the fragrances of the spices. Also, I added the lentils to the sauce and found that I did not need all the lentils prepared. I just stopped adding them when it got to the consistency I desired (like a paste). I made it with the carrot rice recipe (made with basmati rice) from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NolaDiva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
We make this 2-3 times a year when we are looking for something "warm" and vegetarian. My wife and 12 year old daughter love the recipe! We serve it with rice and a naan bread recipe we found on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is an excellent and hearty recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Groton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe is excellent as-is with a mild curry paste for those with more sensitive palates. However, it is also very easy to customize with spicier curry paste and more of the spices. I make this almost weekly and it is never the same twice! I usually start with the base recipe +1 tbs of curry powder, and I add the other spices as my taste buds see fit that night! I find it easier to make the recipe to-taste if you mix the spices with the tomato puree instead of with the onions at first. I let my sauce simmer for at least 10-15 minutes for the best flavors. I also like my curries a little "sloppy" so I don't drain much water off of the lentils. I serve over jasmine rice and with naan. Thank you for providing a great, easy, go-to recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyssaRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Not great. Not enough texture--came out kind of mushy. We won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Didn't have any curry paste handy ...but this recipe was excellent even without the curry paste! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
We really liked this. I added some cream to make it more appealing to my kids, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone ate happily and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States