Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is an excellent and hearty recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA
Living In: Groton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe is excellent as-is with a mild curry paste for those with more sensitive palates. However, it is also very easy to customize with spicier curry paste and more of the spices. I make this almost weekly and it is never the same twice! I usually start with the base recipe +1 tbs of curry powder, and I add the other spices as my taste buds see fit that night! I find it easier to make the recipe to-taste if you mix the spices with the tomato puree instead of with the onions at first. I let my sauce simmer for at least 10-15 minutes for the best flavors. I also like my curries a little "sloppy" so I don't drain much water off of the lentils. I serve over jasmine rice and with naan. Thank you for providing a great, easy, go-to recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyssaRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Not great. Not enough texture--came out kind of mushy. We won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Didn't have any curry paste handy ...but this recipe was excellent even without the curry paste! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
We really liked this. I added some cream to make it more appealing to my kids, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone ate happily and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
very spicy with only 1 tea of curry paste~cant imagine 2 Tbs. and i like it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Came out perfect! Robust flavor. Only thing I would change is the amount of lentils called for in the ingredients list. 2 cups dry yielded way too much for the recipe. I would cut it down to 3/4- 1 cup dry, unless you triple all other ingredients. Other than that... Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ClydesBonnie
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was my first attempt at any type of curry dish. I found a recipe for curry powder and started by making my own curry powder first. With my curry powder in hand, I followed the published recipe almost exactly. I took another readers advice and cut the salt in 1/2 and used tomato paste. I cooked the lentils till they were "al dente" and avoided the "mush" other complained of. I was also gentle when folding the lentils into the curry base so as not to damage the lentils. I did not find the recipe too hot. I got more of a sweet taste initially followed by a little heat. I think this might be an unusual side to bring to barbecue in place of baked beans. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent! Served with basmati and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made exactly as the recipe read. Absolutely great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okanogan, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States