Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I was really excited to try this as I smelled it cooking. My husband and I both like lentils and love curry and spicy dishes, but we found this to be just so so. I doubled the spices except for the salt which I cut back a bit per others reviews, and it was still not that flavorful. It was spicy, yes, but not in a flavorful way. Also, although there was nothing complicated about it, and it was relatively quick, I thought that dirtying 3 pans (lentils, onions/curry, rice to serve over) just wasn't worth it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This will be much better the next time I make it. I over cooked the lentils. They were very mushy. Next time I will check them after 10 minutes. Our family is new to vegan life style, so it's trial and error going forth. This is a great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Really delicious! Having now on a bed of quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this the other night for guests and it turned out extremely spicy. However, this is my own fault as I got a bit over-zealous with the cayenne pepper I was adding....I love spice but I added too much to handle! I will be making this again, but I will tone down the heat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I don't think I prepared this perfectly, but I like this a lot. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato puree (due to what I had on hand) and I think that worked well. Other reviewers are right that red lentils are relatively quick to cook and that the flavor of the recipe depends a lot on the particulars of the curry paste. It's quite spicy, I liked it a lot mixed with rice and Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Wow! A quick, easy, super tasty, and healthy vegetarian dish. I prefer to use chopped fresh tomatoes, but the canned ones work in a pinch. It's also very easy to adjust the heat level to preference. I am sure that I will be making this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Good. I'd double the tomato sauce so there is more liquid. And I cut down on the curry paste/powder (less than half) and it was still plenty hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was delicious!! The good thing about using red lentils is that they cook very quickly. I had this dish together in about a half hour from start to finish. I took suggestions from other reviewers and replaced the tomato puree with a 14.5 oz can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes. I also added a cup and a half of frozen peas at the end. Otherwise I followed the directions as written. Served with hot garlic naan. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Raisins make a delicious addition to this recipe! I did not have tomato puree and had to substitute with a fresh tomato. Would have been better with the puree I'm sure. Tasty recipe after I increased the spice amounts to my preferred level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Very nice recipe. Good as is for the girls. Add some Habanero powder to become a real man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States