Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Loved it even though I didn't have some of the ingredients (didn't have curry paste, chili powder or tumeric). I added a bit of cayenne pepper instead and followed the directions otherwise. I thought it was great and will try it again with all the ingredients after my next grocery store run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was good but pretty thick in texture. The lentils were a good addition but the richness of the dish stopped me from going back for seconds. I'm sure there are better lentil curry recipes out there, but it's cheap and worth a meal if you want to try this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I didn't have curry paste but had all the seasonings needed to more or less replicate the taste. Without the paste, though, I ended up needing much more seasoning than called for, likely double everything (don't double the turmeric, though). To get heat, I added some red pepper garlic paste I had and a few squirts of sriracha. Instead of tomato puree, I used tomato paste and then some cream to give it more body. I also added steamed cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This came out very well. Red lentils were not special enough to make me buy them again to make this -- I'll just use regular green (brown) lentils. I tripled the cumin by accident and found that to be a tasty choice. Served with brown rice and naan. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
loved this. didn't have curry paste so went without. subbed in fresh tomatoes (it's the season). perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have to disagree with the comments that state that this is a great recipe. I tested this recipe out on myself before cooking it for other people and I'm happy that I did! I found it to be inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I like this but it's not my favourite red lentil curry. It is not specific enough on the ingredients. I used green curry paste (all I had) and I am sure it would have been better with red. The recipe also states Tomato puree - for me that meant tomato paste but when i looked at the amount needed - 14.25oz - I realized they must mean tomato sauce. I had to add some water to the curry mixture. It still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I have made this several times, and it always comes out wonderfully. I prefer more sauce and a little more substance, so I usually add a block of frozen chopped spinach to the sauce, then a can of tomato paste. The spinach thaws and adds water to the sauce as well. After that I add water if it needs to be thinned out. I usually add a bit more of each of the spices as well, to compensate for the increased amount of sauce and vegetables. I then serve it over Basmati or Jasmine rice. I have received many compliments and requests for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made this with a Balti curry paste and it was absolutely delicious. Love that it's vegan. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Yum! I'd never made lentils before, but I am experimenting with different grains and legumes. This was delicious! But a question for those of you who have made this...what kind of curry paste did you use? I had some Penang Curry Paste, so I used that along with the more traditional Indian curry powder. But is there something else I should have used instead? I thought the Penang Curry Paste added some nice heat and flavor, but am curious if there is something that would have been even better. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States