Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
The tomato puree made it pretty acidic and bitter. Added half a can of coconut milk and a bit more salt and sugar. I didn't have chili powder so I used a tiny bit of cayenne and some red pepper flakes. All that helped balance it out a bit but it was still a bit too tart. Perhaps maybe half a can of puree next time? And yes lentils do cook very quickly - I had to scrub the first batch and start again (and pay closer attention this time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Half the salt and curry powder and it's perfect. Keep everything else as recipe calls for. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very tasty. Nailed that flavor combination of the sweet, spicy, savory. Pretty quick and easy. I used thai red curry paste (only 1 T. instead of 2) because it was all I had on hand and came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
absolutely delicious! I have a hard time winning my children over with vegetarian dishes, but they thoroughly enjoyed this dish and actually asked for seconds! The only changes I made, was that I used ground ginger instead of minced, doubled the garlic, and used olive oil in place of the veggie oil. I served it over basmati rice and sprinkled with a little rock Himalayan sea salt. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awakenedone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
excellent with the right amount of spices! I had to use up a leek so I threw that in with the onions and added a bit of coconut milk, omitted the salt (cause we get too much anyhow, and used homemade tomato puree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Good but very spicy, and we like spicy! Next time I will decrease the curry paste, curry powder and chilie spice by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing this. I have now made it many times and it never fails to please. Last time, I used the basic curry sauce to make a curried chicken - excellent as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Made it exactly to the recipe and it was delicious! My school age children even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I was a little apprehensive at first, but this recipe delivered! I had to substitute the following and it still turned out super delicious: Masaman curry paste Tomato sauce instead of tomato puree (small jar) Ginger powder instead of fresh ginger The recipe also made way more than I thought. Great with rice and "faux na'an" bread (aka tortillas with garlic butter in a fry pan for us lazy folk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States