Red Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Doubled the tomato puree and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
It was way less spicy than I was hoping for...even a little bland! I'm not sure that I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Best lentil curry I've made. Company worthy. If you freeze some plain cooked lentils, this is easy. The curry paste is what makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I added a bit more tomato and diced up some pepper to saute with the onions. The scents while it was finishing cooking was incredible. Look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey Weaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jc812
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was delicious and tasted truly Indian! I did not have curry paste, and subbed it for 1TB more of the curry powder. I was too lazy to mince my ginger root and so used 1TB of ginger powder. To add to the richness, I sautéed the onions in coconut oil and vegetable oil. I didn't have enough lentils so used half green, half red lentils and I think it worked out well. I started the green lentils in the book for 10 min, then added the red lentils for 20 minutes. The red lentils cooked quickly and broke down after 20 minutes, but the green lentils kept its shape. I think 20 minutes may be too long for the red lentils. I quite liked the red lentils because they add a texture that the green lentils would not have been able to provide.... So do make sure to use the red! For an extra kick, I added 1 Tsp of cayenne. This is versatile, as my husband needs meat every once in a while, I was able to put cubed chicken breasts into the stir fry after adding the spices. This worked well. I served over brown rice and added cilantro. So delicious and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Incredible. The only change I made was diced tomatoes instead of pureed as it was what I had on hand and I didn't measure the oil and probably used closer to 2-3 TBSP. I will be making this often. An important plus for me is it was quick and easy to make but it taste like you slaved away in the kitchen. btw served it with rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Loved this recipe! Although I didn't use the entire 2 cups of lentils suggested since I like my curry to be pretty saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
So so sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I've made this about once a week for close to a year now and just forgot to rate it. It is very good as is. If you really want to add another filling ingredients, cube a potato or two and throw it in with it. It's a vegan meal all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Delicious! I don't know how the consistency of lentils is supposed to be but all the flavors are delicious! I love it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States