Red Kidney Beans (Rajma) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
great dish! After reading the reviews, I added a bit more cinnamon. I also used canned whole tomatoes as I had no fresh ones on hand and used dried beans instead. After soaking them overnight I cooked the dish for 1h30min and all the flavors blended very well. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
this is excellent and very similar to true "authentic" punjabi-style kidney beans i grew up on! i made a few changes that worked great: i substituted olive oil for canola oil (just to be a bit healthier). i added a cup of fresh spinach which complimented the beans nicely. instead of cumin powder, i sauteed cumin seeds along with the garlic and onion for a more authentic "indian" taste. i also left out the cinnamon, added a bay leaf, turmeric and red chili powder to taste for a nice kick. one of my all-time favorite indian dishes...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by los angeles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Just made this tonight and loved it, but made a few changes. I used ghee in place of the canola oil, use 2 green and 1 black cardamom pod (love the taste and perfume it provides), used 1 28oz can of peeled whole tomatoes since tomatoes are out of season (I crushed the tomatoes and cooked them until they were mostly dry, which took forever), added 1 tsp of garam masala, forgot the cilantro, and pureed everything with a hand blender before adding the kidney beans. I found including all the optional steps were delicious, necessary, and worth the time. I highly recommend mincing most of the ingredients and removing the woody spices (cinnamon, cardamom, cloves) for blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Rating for taste is ***** but the misdirections (how much cardamon, slice or chop the onions, how much chili powder, etc.) drop it a notch. I used dried kidney beans (3 parts water to 1 part beans) and cooked the whole thing for about 90 minutes until the beans were done. They absorb the flavor of the spices and probably contributed to the taste of this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very good. The entire family enjoyed it for dinner and left overs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
In the directions, it mentioned Cardamom, but didn't in the ingredients - how ,much are you supposed to use?? I ended up leaving this out. Cook time of 5 minutes is way off! I cooked this for 40 minutes to get a thick gravy - without adding any water!! I also took out the cloves and cinnamon stick before serving as i didnt want to bite into one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This vegetarian recipe packs a nice spicy punch after an initial sweet taste. We were pleased with this and will be making it again. We did not have whole cloves or a cinnamon stick so we substituted 1/2 tsp each of ground cloves and cinnamon and this seemed to be appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Loved it! Served with Chicken with Indian Spices (Low-carb. Cardamom was not listed in ingredients. Good without. Didn't have red kidney beans so used cannellini beans successfully. Yum. can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judije5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good use of spice but I ended up adding more salt. I pureed the tomatos and onions. I hate to not follow recipes the first time I make them but I needed to get more protein into this meal. I added a pound of chicken and cooked it in the sauce with the beans until the chicken was done. It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I just made this recipe. It's pretty good. Although, the spices seem to be outweighed by the volume of tomatoes and onions. I would add probably double the peppercorns, cloves and a little more cinnamon (maybe a touch ground). Also, the recipe doesn't specify the amount for cardamoms. I used two cardamoms and a pinch of asafetida (tiny bit only!). I would make it again with the variations above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States