Red, Juicy, Herb-Fried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I switched oregano for the thyme and found it to be much better. In general, I use less of all the spices so as not to overwhelm the tomatoes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
The amounts of herbs called for is way too much. These were pretty good, would choose to bake them in the oven at a low temp for a longer period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Culinary Assassin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sabattus, Maine, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
First off, the picture matched with this recipe is wrong. The recipe doesn't call for cheese. It would be nice to have a picture that showed what this is really supposed to look like. :-) I changed this recipe because I had pesto on hand that needed to be used up, and the topping in the recipe sounded a little like pesto. It was pretty good. Next time I will salt the tomato halves first, because the pesto was just a little lacking in that. If you use tomatoes larger than Romas, you either need to increase the cooking time or slice the tomatoes instead of halving them, as another reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My favorite alternative to salad! :) But, I add cheese & bake these in the toaster oven. I drizzle the tomato halves w/ olive oil, sprinkle on some shredded cheese - then top w/ the seasonings called for. Bake at 300 for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
The cooking method itself is definitely worth trying again, and this was a pretty addition to the plate. However, even tho' I cut way back on the herbs this still was a little overpowering for my taste. In the future I will either use fresh herbs, or cut back even further on the dried. I used red, ripe tomatoes, as the Roma were only pinkish in my market, and sliced them about 1/2" thick, which was just perfect for both heating and serving them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
i thought these were great and i sliced my tomatoes in abt. 1/4" slices. i also added 1/2 tsp onion powder. be careful to keep an eye on them while they cook--i got busy and forgot them--and accidently stewed the majority of them which tastes pretty foul. also, there is a LOT of paste, so either dbl. the number of tomatoes or cut the ingredients for the paste part of the recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Delicious, fast and easy! i didn't have any thyme on hand so i chopped 3 garlic cloves. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Not sure what I did wrong but they came out mushy. Tasted great but really soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is a tasty dish. This is my second time preparing this tasty dish. In my first review, I suggested to reduce the amount of basil and thyme by half. Instead of white pepper, I used black pepper. I used cherry tomatoes instead of plum or Roma tomatoes and I dipped them in the basil and thyme mixture before frying them in a wok in olive oil. It turned out great! I accompanied this pleasant side-dish with Dijon mashed potatoes, pork in mushroom Dijon sauce and Cajun deviled eggs, which contain lots of Dijon. Great combination! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Sorry, I followed the directions exactly but felt the tomatoes lacked something. I made double the recipe, but since we didn't eat them all, I cut the leftovers up into a salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States