Red Hot Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I wasn't sure this would turn out so well without the butter, but I didn't have any and this was just about the only baked apple recipe that didn't call for it. I left out the red hots and this was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
We always make these as a treat for the kids and adults too. I make them on the stovetop in a big soup pan and fill the bottom with water, then spoon the mixture over the apples every once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLINMARCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I really liked this one. My vote is to not leave out the red hots...It's like an inside-out candy apple. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha715

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Awesome! These were soooo good. I used Jonamacs and these tasted just like my favorite treat(cinnamon candy apples) from the state fair. The idea to leave the bottom when coring was great as it kept everything where it was supposed to be. Even if you don't like red hots you really should try them because they totally make these special. AND they are fat free. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe. For a colorful christmas side dish I place the apples on bright green lettuce leaves and fill the core center with crushed drained pineapple. Everyone raves over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I can't believe this recipe is here!!! My Grand Mother used to make these all the time. She did add the butter and I would just gobble them up! Thank you so much for reminding me of an old favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Ever notice how , often, the simplest things turn out the best? Can't wait until tomorrow. My granddaughters will be over, and I'll have these. They love applesauce, so am sure these will be a totally awesome treat. Don't think they have ever had them before.. rdavis013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I'm Sorry, but here I go again, lol. HOW CAN YOU RATE A RECIPE YOU DIDN'T MAKE?????? The recipe is for RED HOT baked Apples. They call for redhots. It's in the title. I don't get it, lol Anyway, outstanding recipe, sure to be a long time favorite in my house, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I used Granny Smith Apples and added a 1/4 pat of butter to each apple. YUMMY! This is the best baked apple recipe I've ever tried. Now I'm thinking about making an apple pie and adding the cinnamon red hot candies. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States