Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Wow. This was sweet. Not what I was expecting from mashed potatoes but it complimented the meal perfectly. Served with Tantalizingly Tangy Meatloaf and Bella's Brussels Spouts with Bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
love these!! I left out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
My husband said it was too sweet with the sugar, but I enjoyed the flavor with it. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was the first time I made mashed potatoes that I really really liked!!! I didn't want to use powder garlic - so while the potatoes were cooking I did up a simple garlic butter w/ a few tbsp of butter and about 2 tbsp of minced garlic, cooked on med low in a small pot. After it had cooked the garlic a little bit I added my seasonings - a little bit of the sugar that the recipe called for and my substituted italian seasonings (instead of the steak seasoning). I put the garlic butter in the potatoes at the same time as the rest of my butter. Didn't have half n half, so I used heavy whipping cream instead. Absolutely fantastic and cannot wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Love these taters!! Followed the recipe with the exception of the steak seasoning and garlic powder. I did boil the potatoes with 3 cloves of garlic. I also added black pepper at the end. These will accompany so many things on our table. We really liked the sugar sweetened flavor. Mashed potato heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatFedjegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killdeer, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
My family LOVED these mashed potatoes. My mother is off-the-boat Irish and my dad pretty much does not change his ways once he likes something...but he adored these. Slight variations based on other reviews, did not add sugar or steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Family is always asking me to Make these after I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made this recipe without reading the reviews. Which I should have. Most reviewers are saying do not add the sugar. Man, were they right. I will make them again, this time sans sugar. Great taste overall but without the sugar and more salt, maybe even a tad more garlic/garlic powder they will get 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I am trying to figure what I did wrong when making these potatoes, when everyone else on this site seemed to love them! I made them exactly according to the recipe, except that I omitted the sugar. I will say that the half cup, i.e., entire stick of butter, made them taste greasy and heavy. They basically tasted like heavy, greasy, garlicky potato paste. I also couldn't taste the steak seasoning -- should have added more, and I had to add a lot of salt to balance out the garlic. I made them for Easter and it was sort of embarassing because no one in my family seemed to like them either. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
The only thing I am complaining about in this recipe is the raw garlic. I don't mind raw garlic I just didn't care for it in potatoes. My younger kid wouldn't eat them after one bite, but that was understandable. Anyway, great potatoes other than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States