Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Delicious and easy! Only thing I did differently was omit the sugar, only used garlic powder, and I used 2% milk. I think the key to this recipe is the steak seasoning. I used a very good quality that was made locally in Chicago, I probably used close to a teaspoon. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I don't know WHY you would add sugar to this recipe. I omitted it and was glad. Also reduced the amount of butter by 25% and used fat free greek yogurt instead of half and half. Turned out just as magnificently delicious. TIP: The second time I made this recipe (Same changes as before), I doubled it, and also made a batch of this web site's Roasted Swiss Chard with Feta (except I used freshly grated parmesan instead of feta), and I mixed the two recipes together in a big bowl. Now my potatoes also have the delicious, chewy chard and sweet onions! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I boiled the potatoes , threw garlic cloves in the water with them. When I mashed them I used a cup of light sour cream, garlic salt and milk. Yum I also used a little ranch powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The best mashed potatoes I have ever made. I got picky eaters who never would of tried them if I disclosed the sugar and creamer ingredients so I didnt and they too absolutely loved them !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I didn't add sugar, as I believe I had made this recipe before and it completely ruined it, gross. But I made it again and it was really plain! Hmm I would say add sour cream and maybe let some cheddar cheese melt in it for extra flavor? Also add A LOT of salt it was really bland, I also recommend adding lots of garlic power to it as well. On top of all that maybe saute the garlic before adding it into the potatoes. Not sure how some things on here get so many 5 star ratings ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I took previous reviews advice - Omitted the sugar and boiled all of the garlic with the potatoes, it was awesome!! my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This has been made twice in two weeks for my family and will be made again. I do agree with the other reviewers as far as the sugar goes, I would omit it and I like extra garlic in my potatoes as well. Delicious and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Great recipe!!! I added parsley to it to give it more flavor! Definitely making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I added 1/2 tsp parsley, 1 tsp onion powder, 1tsp garlic powder, 1tsp steak seasoning... I halved the butter... I left sugar.... I crushed 4 garlic cloves and added to the water....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
The potatoes came out very creamy, but they were bland. I omitted the sugar as almost every review had suggested it, but it still didn't have much of a garlic flavor to it. After trying the initial product, I added a more garlic powder to the mix (just in case I was the only one thinking it needed more garlic) and my family said you couldn't really taste the garlic either. Definitely would need to change the seasoning level to have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States