Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
These potatoes are fabulous ONLY if you cut the sugar waaaay down which is why I gave it 4 stars. The first time I made them as the recipe called, I was really disappointed. The second time, I only added sugar a teaspoon full at a time. I think I wound up using only three teaspoons, and that time it was perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacqui408

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I really liked where this recipe was going but I agree... WAY too much sugar! I will try it again but use 1 TEASPOON next time because it was too sweet. I also like the suggestion of heating the half and half mixture prior to adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lam Maz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I followed this exactly except for the sugar- that just sounded weird, and judging by the other reviews who ruined their potatoes- I'm glad I skipped the sugar!! However, I followed the recipe and added a little more garlic than it says, and they were wonderful!! My husband kept eating them, and even my 1 year old LOVED them! They were soooo creamy!! Yum- this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4Jesus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Great recipe. I used 1/2 the amount of butter called for and did not have steak seasoning so I added a little Lawry seasoning salt. No sugar is needed. Will be making my potatoes this way alot, flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I'm only giving 3 stars because if you add the sugar it will ruin the dish. There's no need to add 1/2 cup of butter either. I used 1/4 cup and added extra garlic powder. It was a good base recipe. If you don't have half & half you can just use warm milk. It will work just as well. Delicious served with Ina Gardens engagement chicken. It's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvia M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
These are really good and remind of Applebee's. I did omit the sugar (it just seemed odd and excessive) and used about 1 tsp more garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This turned out really good. I made it just the way the recipe said and had good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I love these potatoes! They taste like mashed potatoes you'd get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. My family gobbled up the potatoes and asked me to make them again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Better without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States