Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made these for our early Thanksgiving yesterday, and I was disappointed. Nobody commented on them, and they always commented on my own recipe. I don't know what I did wrong, but too much garlic flavor and just didn't taste like good southern home cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Omitted the sugar, needed more milk than the recipe called for and added extra garlic but this recipe is basically very good and a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
No sugar, add salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is great! I didn't add the sugar based on others' reviews and my own preference. These are the best-- and boiling the potatoes with the garlic is the difference maker. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I am honestly not a big fan of garlic but my husband and best friend are and I cook for them alot. SO on that note they thought these were the best mashed potatoes in the world :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I have tried several recipes for mashed potatoes from this site and they all came out kind of bland. These are PHENOMENAL!! I followed the advice of another reviewer and added 1 tsp of garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder and 1/8 tsp of black pepper to the water when the potatoes were boiling. While mashing the potatoes, I added 2tsp garlic powder, 2 tsp onion powder, 2tsp steak seasoning and 1/2 tsp parsley. Oh, yeah, left out the sugar, and mashed the potatoes with a fork instead because my husband and I like them kind of chunky. I also left the skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Skipped the sugar. Added salt, Parmesan cheese and onion powder and halved the butter. Sooo good. The steak seasoning was a great addition. Will make again and again I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious! Skipped the sugar and forgot the steak seasoning so I guess I can't give a true review... and added chives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook44
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Good, and will make again with some modifications. I will skip the sugar, and add some salt. I doubled the garlic because I didn't feel like it was garlicky enough. Also used milk in place of half and half, and used a little more than 1/4 cup to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe goes over well here at my house! Everyone loves the potatoes! I used minced garlic once but the kids kept finding it in the potatoes so I now I just put a few slightly chopped pieces of garlic into the water while boiling then remove before I mash them. I season with freshly ground pepper and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States