Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I just want to comment on the title of this recipe because it confused me until I read the ingredient list. It's not Red Garlic, it's Red Potatoes, so the title ought to read "Garlic Mashed Red Potatoes". Red is an adjective modifying the noun potatoes, and in the case of this misnamed recipe, it appears to be describing the garlic. And that's today's grammar lesson for chefs: Watch your grammar or the grammar chef will getcha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I didn't add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Liked it without the sugar, 1/4 cup butter, almond milk instead of half and half. I didn't have a steak seasoning so I used an equal amount of dashi (Japanese soup base powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This recipe is good but omit the sugar! Why would you add sugar to a starchy dish???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I didn't add the sugar. Add chopped green onion and sour cream (reduce milk). A little cheese if you like. It' like loaded baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Very fast and easy to do. My family and I enjoyed it but thinks the next we'll use less or no sugar at all. But still delightful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I don't understand why folks are reviewing this recipe so highly after omitting the sugar. The sugar is the reason I am rating this poorly, as I did in fact make it as written. The steak seasoning flavor was non existent in my dish, and the garlic/sugar mixed like oil and water. There was no flavor fusion here, just different flavors trying to out do each other. Sadly, this was an epic fail for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This recipe would be 4 stars without sugar. I should have read the reviews before I made this because no one likes the sugar in these. All the other flavors made this a very flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Did not use sugar, but these were so good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very tasty. I added a Tablespoon or two of sour cream to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States