Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Do NOT add sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derwood, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I made this last night and was very disappointed, unfortunately. The sugar ruined the whole dish in my (and my family's) opinion. In fact, my sister and I sampled the potatoes before I added any ingredients (just the boiled potatoes, to which I added salt) and we thought they were delicious. Once I added the rest of the ingredients I regretted it. I would make them again with 2X the liquid, using milk instead of half and half, and not quite so much butter and omit the sugar completely. Gotta give props to the rest of your dinner menu, though. I made the meatloaf and green beans - they were a hit! I think I will adopt the meatloaf recipe as my own. I hate meatloaf (unfortunately I'm the only one in my family) and this one was devoured by everyone including me! The Peach cobbler didn't turn out - but then again, baking has never been my fortè.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorkingWarden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Oh my gosh! these were amazing! The best mashed potatoes i have ever had. I just made a few changes because some things i didn't have. I did not use any sugar because I am not big on sweet. While boiling I used 1 tsp of garlic powder and 1 tsp of garlic salt. I also added a pinch of salt and pinch of ground pepper. Then when i was mashing the potatoes i added 2 tsp of garlic salt, 1 tsp of garlic powder, and 1 tsp of the steak seasonings. Then to make it pretty I added a few shakes of parsley. I made gravy with these and they didn't even need it at all! If you like your potatoes very flavorful this is the way to go. My picky roommates DEVOURED them. Thanks for the awesome idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
To make it a little easire, i crush several cloves of garlic and add to the cooking water with the potatoes..when done, drain and mash all together...the garlic will be tender & sweet and it's all right there...Also, I heat the butter and cream some before adding to the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love these potatoes! Only changes...I omit the sugar add 2 tsp garlic to the potatoes/cooking water, and then also GENTLY warm my half and half with 2 additional tsp minced garlic before adding it to the potato mixture. This is one of those recipes I make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILSKA50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POOKY1969
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I love garlic and these were delish! I forgot to dice the potatoes before cooking (didn't matter in the end), I also added all of the crushed garlic to the boiling water to make it easier to mash with the potatoes. I didn't add the sugar but did add a bit of salt and used milk instead of the cream. No need for gravy for these spuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKY1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Absolutely awesome. Made the recipe exactly as stated, except I used heavy cream instead of half and half, and I omitted the sugar. Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
The best mashed potatoes I've ever had!!! But BEWARE, and only put in 1 tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Since I saw the reviews that said this was a little sweet I reduced the sugar by half. I also added more garlic. We really liked this. I don't think this will be our "all the time" recipe, but it is good for a change. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very Good. Just don't add the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States