Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
DO NOT ADD SUGAR!!! Would have been great without it, unfortunately, I did not sample the potatoes before I added it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I am preparing to make these for a second time per my girlfriends request. So, yes they are that good. I like every one else eighty-sixed the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did make a few changes: used milk instead of cream, cut the butter down a little bit, and omitted the sugar. I think it's key to avoid overcooking the cubed red potatoes, so they don't end up too watery/mushy. Also use a good steak seasoning that's not too overpowering. I use Emeril's all natural steak rub, and get better flavor results with that then my Penzey's chicago-style steak seasoning. I also don't bother using a blender at the end, since I like to keep the texture of the red potato skin intact. This is a really good place to start if you want to make restaurant style creamy garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were very good!! I left out the sugar, as other reviewers mentioned doing. To cut down the calories, I also cut the butter in half and omitted the half-and-half, and used 1/2 cup of plain fat-free yogurt instead (next time I might use 3/4-1 cup of yogurt). The tangyness of the yogurt worked really well with the garlic in the potatoes. With these changes, I think these will be my go-to mashed potatoes from now on. I also didn't have any steak seasoning, so I left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The sugar ruined these. I will try them again, but just omit the sugar and add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
No where near enough liquid. They made a good potato puff & shepherd pie though! Absolutely left out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great recipe, but since we don't enjoy anything sweet with a meal, didn't even consider adding the sugar. The potatoes were absolutely great without it! I did however, add a bit more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sbauder

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great recipe. I used the heavy cream and left out the sugar, as I found several reviews omiting the sugar. After doing so, I would agree and will continue to omit the sugar. It really isnt necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DdAyWeN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
The other reviews are right don't add the sugar! Otherwise these are absolutely amazing and simple to make! I made them for my husband who is a homestyle mashed potatoes type of guy and he prefers these ones over regular mashed potatoes now! We make these at least twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Taneytown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I debated about 3 or 4 stars. Everyone commented how good they were, however, I was not satisfied. The sugar should have been left out. It was just too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States