Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was the first time I made mashed potatoes that I really really liked!!! I didn't want to use powder garlic - so while the potatoes were cooking I did up a simple garlic butter w/ a few tbsp of butter and about 2 tbsp of minced garlic, cooked on med low in a small pot. After it had cooked the garlic a little bit I added my seasonings - a little bit of the sugar that the recipe called for and my substituted italian seasonings (instead of the steak seasoning). I put the garlic butter in the potatoes at the same time as the rest of my butter. Didn't have half n half, so I used heavy whipping cream instead. Absolutely fantastic and cannot wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Love these taters!! Followed the recipe with the exception of the steak seasoning and garlic powder. I did boil the potatoes with 3 cloves of garlic. I also added black pepper at the end. These will accompany so many things on our table. We really liked the sugar sweetened flavor. Mashed potato heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatFedjegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killdeer, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
My family LOVED these mashed potatoes. My mother is off-the-boat Irish and my dad pretty much does not change his ways once he likes something...but he adored these. Slight variations based on other reviews, did not add sugar or steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Family is always asking me to Make these after I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made this recipe without reading the reviews. Which I should have. Most reviewers are saying do not add the sugar. Man, were they right. I will make them again, this time sans sugar. Great taste overall but without the sugar and more salt, maybe even a tad more garlic/garlic powder they will get 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I am trying to figure what I did wrong when making these potatoes, when everyone else on this site seemed to love them! I made them exactly according to the recipe, except that I omitted the sugar. I will say that the half cup, i.e., entire stick of butter, made them taste greasy and heavy. They basically tasted like heavy, greasy, garlicky potato paste. I also couldn't taste the steak seasoning -- should have added more, and I had to add a lot of salt to balance out the garlic. I made them for Easter and it was sort of embarassing because no one in my family seemed to like them either. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
The only thing I am complaining about in this recipe is the raw garlic. I don't mind raw garlic I just didn't care for it in potatoes. My younger kid wouldn't eat them after one bite, but that was understandable. Anyway, great potatoes other than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
DO NOT ADD SUGAR!!! Would have been great without it, unfortunately, I did not sample the potatoes before I added it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I am preparing to make these for a second time per my girlfriends request. So, yes they are that good. I like every one else eighty-sixed the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did make a few changes: used milk instead of cream, cut the butter down a little bit, and omitted the sugar. I think it's key to avoid overcooking the cubed red potatoes, so they don't end up too watery/mushy. Also use a good steak seasoning that's not too overpowering. I use Emeril's all natural steak rub, and get better flavor results with that then my Penzey's chicago-style steak seasoning. I also don't bother using a blender at the end, since I like to keep the texture of the red potato skin intact. This is a really good place to start if you want to make restaurant style creamy garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States