Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Awesome recipe! So simple, with ingredients I already have. (I did find tomato sauce at my grocery store recently that is perfect for this recipe. It is Del Fuerte Tomato Sauce seasoned with Mexican spices, which only enchance the ingredients of the recipe. It comes in 7.4 oz cartons and was only $0.33 per carton.) This is a definite keeper! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is the first enchilada sauce recipe I have tried at home and it is great and easy. I followed the recommendations of using tomato paste instead of sauce, doubled the chili powder, replaced the water with broth and let it simmer for a long time. It didn't taste like pasta sauce as a few review said. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was fantastic, I'll make this regularly! I did follow the advise from the review from mbphilli which was to use paste instead of tomato sauce, to use chicken broth instead of water, to blend the salsa with my immersable blender, and to double the chili powder. I will follow all these suggestions next time too. they also suggested to cook for several hours but I wasn't able to take that much time so I did let it simmer 1 hour instead - it really came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This sauce is great! It is much, much better than canned enchilada sauce. I did not have any parsley or salsa so I added some extra tomato sauce. I also added a bit of allspice and a few dashes of chipotle powder to give it a little kick. The sauce was quite thin without the salsa so I simmered it on medium for about 20-25 minutes. This gave it the perfect consistency. Thanks for the quick, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Hmmm. This tastes fine, but is too runny to be considered "sauce." I wish I would have read some reviews beforehand, but b/c I was racing against the clock, I didn't. Many reviewers suggested that the ingredient list is inaccurate. I agree. Tomato paste is sold in 6 oz. cans & tomato sauce in 8 oz. ones. Those who subbed tomato paste for sauce yielded excellent results. I ended up adding a bit more salsa (1/2 c. total), hoping my sauce would thicken, but had no luck w/ that. I then dissolved 1 T cornstarch in 1 T cold H2O, added this "slurry" to my sauce, brought to a slight boil & thickened this way. Next time, I'll substitute tomato paste! And, despite GABESGIRL's comment about this not being authentic.... I can't attest to whether this is or not (I'm not of Mexican descent), but I CAN say it was not bland in the least (or sweet...). I considered Mrs. Epsy's enchilada sauce, but it seemed too spicy for my mom's palate (I was hosting my parents for dinner). Yes, maybe this is bland compared to the "real" thing, but it was perfect for what I needed it to be - a mild, sligtly seasoned sauce to top my spinach enchiladas wtih. NOTE: I subbed dried minced onion for fresh (why chop 1 t worth???) and this seemed to work just fine. :) Oh, and use Mexican oregano. It has a stronger flavor and therefore holds up MUCH better to the strong flavors of SW cooking. Thanks for sharing, Sal. I'm adding your recipe to my "keeper" file right now! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very good, will keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Exactly the sauce I have been looking for, I cooked it early in the day and let it sit in the refrigerator for several hours. Then added it ot my favorite beef enchilada recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
way better than the canned. super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Good & easy! Complimented the Chicken Enchiladas I (by Debbie Donham) on this site nicely! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Made this at the last minute due to being out of canned sauce...family told me I have to save the recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States