Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
After reading LOTS of reviews, they are correct by saying that this doesn't taste authentic but it was delicious! I made a few tiny changes: After combining all ingredients, I put everything in the blender to make it smooth (not just the salsa) and added some cayenne, crushed red pepper, and cornstarch to thicken since I did not want to use tomato paste and I like a little heat. I increased the onion to a little over 1/8th of a cup and the olive oil to 2(ish) tablespoons. It simmered for about 45 minutes. The salsa I added was homemade. We ate this poured over black bean and green chilies enchiladas and topped with colby-jack cheese. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amytronn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Wanted something without sour cream or goofy ingredients, so found this one. Very excellent! I saw the 1.5 cups of water, so like others I used Paste instead of Sauce, but that was the only deviation. Turned out yummy. I used this on "Beef Enchiladas II" recipe. For half the enchiladas I mixed some wolf brand chili in the sauce and poured it over because I wanted some chili-style too. VERY GOOD. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I made this with my canned tomato sauce from my 2010's garden. And I used fresh herbs and spices. I cooked it on low for about 30 minutes, It was already thick because I make my tomato sauce thick. It was great! And I needed something quick because I was making chicken enchiladas and I did not want to go to the store. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was my first attempt at making enchilada sauce. I prefer not to buy sauces if I don't have to, too processed. It was delicious! Even my father who hates "new" food and is weary of anything I cook because I like things spicy loved it! He went back for seconds. The only thing I did was use a few shakes of sea salt rather than the measured out 1/8 tsp of salt. Less sale is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
fabulous! Made exactly as described and it was perfect! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was great! I used less chili powder and a little less water. We like a thicker sauce. And I doubled the recipe as we like lots of sauce. We will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
mmmmm better then resturaunt!! I use a tad less onion and water, perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great flavor! I put everything in the food processor before I added it to the pan to make a smoother sauce. I'm not a big fan of chunky enchilada sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Awesome recipe! So simple, with ingredients I already have. (I did find tomato sauce at my grocery store recently that is perfect for this recipe. It is Del Fuerte Tomato Sauce seasoned with Mexican spices, which only enchance the ingredients of the recipe. It comes in 7.4 oz cartons and was only $0.33 per carton.) This is a definite keeper! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is the first enchilada sauce recipe I have tried at home and it is great and easy. I followed the recommendations of using tomato paste instead of sauce, doubled the chili powder, replaced the water with broth and let it simmer for a long time. It didn't taste like pasta sauce as a few review said. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States