Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I obly had half the ingrediants (spices) for this and we still loved it. However I have never eaten a real enchilada. I literally made up my pwn recipe with ground mear, rice,beans. onions. peppers and cheese sause rolled in tortillas with this sauce on top and a good helping of grated mixed blend cheese on top. You don't have to be a chef in the kitchen to make something good, You just have to know what your doing. I rated this 4 simply because I am sure there must be something more like from the old country out there but I personally will use this again soon,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by screamingwallflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very good! I added a bit more salsa though to thicken is up a bit (1/2 cup total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Loved it. I don't hink I will buy the canned sauce any more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is very good. I used Goya brand salsa and added additional chili powder as other users suggested. I also used tomato paste, not sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
FIRST CLASS!!! I tripled the recipe exactly as written (using homemade salsa) and homecanned two pints for future use. Plan to make even more. It was perfect for my Huevos Rancheros and tonight it will feature in my enchiladas. It just doesn't get any better than this. PS: for homecanning, waterbath for 35 minutes.UPDATE: 6/6/11: Have multiplied by 16 and am canning 9 pints. Was confused by the 6 oz. of tomato sauce...which commonly comes in 8 oz. cans so originally used the paste. This time I split it between paste and sauce. Only used 5 c. water total but it is great. Now I'm glad I canned homemade salsa in quarts last year due to running out of pint jars. Will make more as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Being from California, I'm used to good mexican and can handle the spice. I don't know if I somehow ended up with strongest chili powder on the planet, but this sauce ended up INEDIBLE! My boyfriend just licked his finer after serving himself and began coughing and I ate one piece of zucchini and cannot get rid of the pain in my mouth. So much for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
We all loved it! Made chicken enchiladas with the sauce. Included mexican cheese and sauteed onions in the enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneybowers13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Definitely use tomato paste...I did, and this sauce turned out SO good! Used with Shredded Beef Enchiladas from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libbygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
After reading LOTS of reviews, they are correct by saying that this doesn't taste authentic but it was delicious! I made a few tiny changes: After combining all ingredients, I put everything in the blender to make it smooth (not just the salsa) and added some cayenne, crushed red pepper, and cornstarch to thicken since I did not want to use tomato paste and I like a little heat. I increased the onion to a little over 1/8th of a cup and the olive oil to 2(ish) tablespoons. It simmered for about 45 minutes. The salsa I added was homemade. We ate this poured over black bean and green chilies enchiladas and topped with colby-jack cheese. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amytronn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Wanted something without sour cream or goofy ingredients, so found this one. Very excellent! I saw the 1.5 cups of water, so like others I used Paste instead of Sauce, but that was the only deviation. Turned out yummy. I used this on "Beef Enchiladas II" recipe. For half the enchiladas I mixed some wolf brand chili in the sauce and poured it over because I wanted some chili-style too. VERY GOOD. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States