Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
The only reason I'd take away a star is, I found it was really runny. And, typically I don't read the reviews before making the recipe. That being said, when it was on the stove boiling I thought it was soup. I added some tomato paste, like others.. and it thickened it up. I like my food -burn your tastebuds-hot so I added a couple teaspoons of tabasco and some additional chili powder, as well as some cayenne pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
After reading the reviews I used tomato paste instead of sauce and also used 1/2 can of chipotle peppers. It was way to hot for our taste buds w/the chipotle, I had to tone it down by using grated carrots. The end result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious. I doubled it and added 1T of white sugar and that made it a little tastier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
While not "authentic"...this is the best enchilada sauce I've ever tasted. I made it last week for the first time, and I'm currently cooking about a gallon of it right now to tuck away in the freezer. There is nothing more comforting in life than a cheese enchilada made with corn tortillas and red sauce. This is wonderful. I made Mexican rice at the same time as this, and just threw a cup of the sauce into the rice water while it was cooking. Delish. I'm doing the same this time around, except I'm using barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I did not think this was authentic at all. I think the oregano & basil gave it more of a italian feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine McCann Shelton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I obly had half the ingrediants (spices) for this and we still loved it. However I have never eaten a real enchilada. I literally made up my pwn recipe with ground mear, rice,beans. onions. peppers and cheese sause rolled in tortillas with this sauce on top and a good helping of grated mixed blend cheese on top. You don't have to be a chef in the kitchen to make something good, You just have to know what your doing. I rated this 4 simply because I am sure there must be something more like from the old country out there but I personally will use this again soon,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Smalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very good! I added a bit more salsa though to thicken is up a bit (1/2 cup total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Loved it. I don't hink I will buy the canned sauce any more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is very good. I used Goya brand salsa and added additional chili powder as other users suggested. I also used tomato paste, not sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
FIRST CLASS!!! I tripled the recipe exactly as written (using homemade salsa) and homecanned two pints for future use. Plan to make even more. It was perfect for my Huevos Rancheros and tonight it will feature in my enchiladas. It just doesn't get any better than this. PS: for homecanning, waterbath for 35 minutes.UPDATE: 6/6/11: Have multiplied by 16 and am canning 9 pints. Was confused by the 6 oz. of tomato sauce...which commonly comes in 8 oz. cans so originally used the paste. This time I split it between paste and sauce. Only used 5 c. water total but it is great. Now I'm glad I canned homemade salsa in quarts last year due to running out of pint jars. Will make more as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States