Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The sauce was excellent, but I felt like I needed to make some changes otherwise it wouldn't have received high marks! I exchanged the tomato sauce for a 6 oz can of tomato past and used a can of chicken broth which I think gave it a much richer taste than if I would have used water. It was thick and rich. Excellent! I will never purcase enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Blackburn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I did not have enchilada sauce on hand and found this recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand except parsley (seriously, who needs parsley for anything). This recipe was quick and easy and it tasted much better than the canned stuff you buy at the store. I will use this again! I, too, like super hot, so I just added sliced jalapeno's to the top of the enchiladas and then always use more hot sauce when I eat it. Instead of parsley, you can always add cilantro after baking your enchiladas. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I also took other reviewers suggestions by using paste instead of sauce! I simmered for 45 minutes and I thought it turned out pretty good!! I'd make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
At first I thought everyone was being a little arrogant with their comments of "I grew up in Mexico and this is NOT enchilada sauce!", but this recipe just needed...more. More spices. More heat. More onion. More. It's a nice ingredient list, but I would double everything except the water and tomato sauce. Also, I made chicken enchiladas, so I cooked my chicken in the sauce; two birds, one stone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I made this without the oregano, basil, and parsley and used 1/2 of a fresh onion. Doubled it, used an immersion blender, and added a square of unsweetened baking chocolate. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is excellent! I only made a few changes. As suggested by another reviewer I used 1) tomato paste instead of tomato sauce and 2) chicken broth instead of water. I also decided to put in a jalapeno pepper instead of doubling the chili powder as suggested. I topped it with jalapeno cheese and it was SPICY! but very tasty. I'm definitely adding this recipe to the family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This sauce was a bit too sweet and Italian tasting for me. I was looking for an alternative base for a sauce, but my husband and I didn't like it. I love Mexican food and Tex-Mex cooking, this is neither. This is more like an Italian sauce. I hate giving low reviews, but as a Mexican-American woman, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My husband loved it and added to our Mexican meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I always use this enchilada sauce! I have been using it for about 2 years now. It's fabulous and much better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bremen, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was very easy and quite tasty! Used the tomato sauce(didn't have paste) Salsa was also missing from pantry-so used Rotel tomatoes instead. Continued to reduce until I was satisfied with thickness. Very forgiving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States