Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I made this without the oregano, basil, and parsley and used 1/2 of a fresh onion. Doubled it, used an immersion blender, and added a square of unsweetened baking chocolate. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is excellent! I only made a few changes. As suggested by another reviewer I used 1) tomato paste instead of tomato sauce and 2) chicken broth instead of water. I also decided to put in a jalapeno pepper instead of doubling the chili powder as suggested. I topped it with jalapeno cheese and it was SPICY! but very tasty. I'm definitely adding this recipe to the family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This sauce was a bit too sweet and Italian tasting for me. I was looking for an alternative base for a sauce, but my husband and I didn't like it. I love Mexican food and Tex-Mex cooking, this is neither. This is more like an Italian sauce. I hate giving low reviews, but as a Mexican-American woman, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My husband loved it and added to our Mexican meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I always use this enchilada sauce! I have been using it for about 2 years now. It's fabulous and much better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was very easy and quite tasty! Used the tomato sauce(didn't have paste) Salsa was also missing from pantry-so used Rotel tomatoes instead. Continued to reduce until I was satisfied with thickness. Very forgiving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
The only reason I'd take away a star is, I found it was really runny. And, typically I don't read the reviews before making the recipe. That being said, when it was on the stove boiling I thought it was soup. I added some tomato paste, like others.. and it thickened it up. I like my food -burn your tastebuds-hot so I added a couple teaspoons of tabasco and some additional chili powder, as well as some cayenne pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
After reading the reviews I used tomato paste instead of sauce and also used 1/2 can of chipotle peppers. It was way to hot for our taste buds w/the chipotle, I had to tone it down by using grated carrots. The end result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious. I doubled it and added 1T of white sugar and that made it a little tastier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
While not "authentic"...this is the best enchilada sauce I've ever tasted. I made it last week for the first time, and I'm currently cooking about a gallon of it right now to tuck away in the freezer. There is nothing more comforting in life than a cheese enchilada made with corn tortillas and red sauce. This is wonderful. I made Mexican rice at the same time as this, and just threw a cup of the sauce into the rice water while it was cooking. Delish. I'm doing the same this time around, except I'm using barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States