Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Our standard enchilada sauce recipe! Excellent! We even can it so we have enough on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Was OKAY, but this is not a recipe I will be repeating again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is the first time I've made an enchilada sauce and this is AWESOME! Had I known how easy it is to make, I would have never bought the canned stuff. I doubled the recipe with a few exceptions...I used 4 tsps. onion, one 8 oz. can tomato sauce (that's the size they come in in my part of the world...6 oz. would be tomatoe paste), and I used chicken broth instead of water (if I had pork broth, I would've used that instead). I used my immersion blender to blend it to a nice, smooth consistency so didn't have the 'Ragu' effect that one writer mentioned. I am using my enchilada sauce for a posole recipe that I am sure will be magnificent. I'll report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This sauce was pretty good though it was really really watery...I added a small can of Tomato Paste to it to thicken it up...should've added some additional seasonings but I didn't. It thickened up perfectly after adding the Tomato Paste and tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
YUMMMM!!! This is way better than buying enchilada sauce at the store. I also used tomato paste instead of sauce as some other reviewers suggested. Made a double batch and plan on using the leftovers later. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kouts, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Tast good. I agree at first it tasted more italian. Simmered a little longer and added 2 cubes of semi-sweet chocolate and added more chili powder, it tastes much better now. Think next time i'll reduce the basil and oregano a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The sauce was excellent, but I felt like I needed to make some changes otherwise it wouldn't have received high marks! I exchanged the tomato sauce for a 6 oz can of tomato past and used a can of chicken broth which I think gave it a much richer taste than if I would have used water. It was thick and rich. Excellent! I will never purcase enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I did not have enchilada sauce on hand and found this recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand except parsley (seriously, who needs parsley for anything). This recipe was quick and easy and it tasted much better than the canned stuff you buy at the store. I will use this again! I, too, like super hot, so I just added sliced jalapeno's to the top of the enchiladas and then always use more hot sauce when I eat it. Instead of parsley, you can always add cilantro after baking your enchiladas. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I also took other reviewers suggestions by using paste instead of sauce! I simmered for 45 minutes and I thought it turned out pretty good!! I'd make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
At first I thought everyone was being a little arrogant with their comments of "I grew up in Mexico and this is NOT enchilada sauce!", but this recipe just needed...more. More spices. More heat. More onion. More. It's a nice ingredient list, but I would double everything except the water and tomato sauce. Also, I made chicken enchiladas, so I cooked my chicken in the sauce; two birds, one stone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States