Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I did not need an authentic enchilada sauce, just something quick to add a kid-friendly zing to "Mild Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas" on this site. A few alterations to this recipe: cut back on chili powder to appeal to kids’ taste buds (1/2 tsp. and will cut back to 1/4 tsp next time), and 1 14 oz can of chopped tomatoes, pureed, and two heaping tablespoons of tomato paste. Omit water. Simmered for 20-30 minutes, and used in place of chopped tomatoes in aforementioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
tastes like pasta sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I started out super-optiminstic, but for everyone else who gave this a poor review, you sure weren't kidding! As written, this tastes like a bad combo between taco sauce and spaghetti sauce. I honestly have no idea why this has been so highly reviewed. I had to make so many changes to make it taste like enchilada sauce that my final version doesn't resemble the original at all. Sorry, but I may have to go back to the stuff in the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I never buy the canned stuff anymore. My entire family says I make the best enchiladas with this sauce. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I think this is a solid recipe and I love that it is all the things you "should" have on hand in your kitchen. I do have to say that I find it funny when users rate recipes poorly after modifying them to begin with. How does one know if the recipe is good if you don't actually follow the recipe. So funny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Basil? I left that out. I don't think I have ever tasted basil in enchilada sauce. Other than that the recipe is solid. I followed the receipe with the following substitutions. I used 1 thin slice of white onion diced very fine instead of the 1 teaspoon minced. I probably had about 2 tablespoons of onion. How do you get just 1 teaspoon of minced onion? I used approx. 1/3 cup homemade salsa that consisted of tomatoes, onions, water, jalepeno and salt that were cooked and blended till smooth. Very simple recipe I found online. I also eyeballed the other ingredient quantities because I have been cooking for four decades and have a pretty good sense for measurments and my families tastes. I used slightly less than 1 teaspoon of dried oregano, 1 and 1/2 Tablespoon of two different kinds of chili powder. Blend of bright red and dark red chili powder. NO BASIL. Large pinch of salt and about 8 grinds of fresh black pepper on a very fine grind. Approximately 1 Tablespoon of dried parsley because my dried parsley is about 3 months old and is losing some of it's flavor. I also used 1 (8 ounce) can of tomato sauce because that is the way it is sold where I live. I ended up using about 2 cups of water. After bringing my concoction up to temperature, I tasted and found the result satisfactory. It was a bit thin and tasted too much of tomato. I read some reviews and added about 1/2 teaspoon of el yucateco chipotele sauce. Now it is better, but still not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I really didn't know anything about making Enchilada's but knew that enchilada sauce canned wouldn't do...I had no complaints from anyone...finally, a meal everyone liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I tried this recipe 2 years ago and people can't belive this is home made. It is so simple, the reason for finding my own recipe for the sauce is because I can not tolerate too much heat and store bought is just too much. Plus there is nothing like homemade. I make a big batch and will use 1 portion then save 2 other portions for the next time. Sometimes I make 2 pans and will crank up the heat for others. Tons of flavor, easy to make, makes you a hero at dinner time. 5 stars for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rdgrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very good sauce. I put this on the beef enchiladas from this site and it was wonderful!!!!. Why buy when its so easy to make??? I will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was very good. Made exactly according to the directions. Only gave 4 stars because I thought it was a bit thin, but the flavor was yummy and perfect over the top of the Chicken Enchiladas by Julie Moutray on this site. Thanks for submitting Sal. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States