Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Really, really good. Kids liked it because it wasn't too spicy. Used fresh parsley and basil and chicken stock instead of water. Will never buy canned again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I double this recipe and freeze whatever I dont use. I also add fresh herbs instead of dried. I've subbed taco sauce when I didn't have salsa and it worked great (original Ortega Medium) These enchiladas are a hit in my house every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I've been using this recipe for about four years as I live where Mexican ingredients are very expensive (a store bought sauce like this would be about five dollars for one small can), so I make things from scratch. It is excellent and so easy to make. Variations can be made according to taste. I don't think it tastes like Italian sauce at all--as one reviewer noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I'm from texas and my husband is mexican. It wasn't great for him...the sauce was too watery so I had to add some flour to thicken it up. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
So I didn't have salsa so I used a can of rotel and cut back on the water. Turned out great. My beef and bean burrito filling was one pound of hamburger, the remainder of the onion that I didn't use in the sauce and I used a can of refried beans and seasoned with s/p, Worcestershire, and a cup of the enchilada sauce. This satisfied my need for Tex Mex up here in Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Really good and flavorful. I omitted the salsa because I wanted a smooth sauce. I stuffed my tortillas with seasoned chicken, onion, and white cheddar. This is a keeper for me. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Easter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Used this recipe in place of a jarred sauce that another enchilada recipe called for. It was pretty similar to one that I have written on a 3x5 card, but was unable to find it so I was on a search and came across this recipe. The only change I made to this recipe was using vegetable broth in place of the water and used a whole can of tomato sauce .. Will keep this for future reference .. thanks for the recipe ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I first tried this recipe a long time ago when I was visiting my girlfriend in Germany and wanted to make her Enchiladas Rojas, and the closest thing I could find to jarred/canned enchildada sauce in the supermarkets there was an Old El Paso enchildada kit. Just no. While I agree with others that this is not perfectly authentic, it was close enough and tasted quite good, just a bit different than I was used to. But while my Mexican dad would probably find it lacking, I grew up with red sauce and never actually learned to make it, so this recipe was a good start. I thik of it more as a good recipe for a base sauce that I tweak to taste more how I want. It's a very flexible recipe, in that it can take the tweaking and is just about always improved. So obviously, I have adjusted it over time. Like others, I have used tomato paste and chicken broth to soup the flavor up a bit. To make it thicker, I let it simmer to let the liquid evaporate and concentrate the flavor. I put more parsley than the recipe calls for. Also, I add a decent amount of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Aguilar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I needed a quick sauce for cilaquiles. This went together fast with ingredients I had. I used a New Mexico chili blend, simmered it down a bit and pureed it smooth. Maybe not "authentic" but it certainly is good. I'll definitely make this again and can't wait to try it on enchiladas. It has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leetonia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
We loved it! We substituted fresh minced chives, as well as fresh basil and oregano. Used only 1/2 cup water and used picante sauce instead of salsa. This was impressively easy and I couldn't be happier with how wonderful this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States