Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Used this recipe in place of a jarred sauce that another enchilada recipe called for. It was pretty similar to one that I have written on a 3x5 card, but was unable to find it so I was on a search and came across this recipe. The only change I made to this recipe was using vegetable broth in place of the water and used a whole can of tomato sauce .. Will keep this for future reference .. thanks for the recipe ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I first tried this recipe a long time ago when I was visiting my girlfriend in Germany and wanted to make her Enchiladas Rojas, and the closest thing I could find to jarred/canned enchildada sauce in the supermarkets there was an Old El Paso enchildada kit. Just no. While I agree with others that this is not perfectly authentic, it was close enough and tasted quite good, just a bit different than I was used to. But while my Mexican dad would probably find it lacking, I grew up with red sauce and never actually learned to make it, so this recipe was a good start. I thik of it more as a good recipe for a base sauce that I tweak to taste more how I want. It's a very flexible recipe, in that it can take the tweaking and is just about always improved. So obviously, I have adjusted it over time. Like others, I have used tomato paste and chicken broth to soup the flavor up a bit. To make it thicker, I let it simmer to let the liquid evaporate and concentrate the flavor. I put more parsley than the recipe calls for. Also, I add a decent amount of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Aguilar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I needed a quick sauce for cilaquiles. This went together fast with ingredients I had. I used a New Mexico chili blend, simmered it down a bit and pureed it smooth. Maybe not "authentic" but it certainly is good. I'll definitely make this again and can't wait to try it on enchiladas. It has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leetonia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
We loved it! We substituted fresh minced chives, as well as fresh basil and oregano. Used only 1/2 cup water and used picante sauce instead of salsa. This was impressively easy and I couldn't be happier with how wonderful this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Love love love this. But more so with the changes made from other reviewer suggestions. I used tomato paste mainly because I would have had a half can of sauce left (doesn't come in 6 oz can). Used chicken broth instead of water and added one chipotle pepper. I can only repeat what everyone else stated, I will never used canned sauce again. Thank you for excellent Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I followed mbphilli's recommendations and I am glad I did so. The sauce was defiantly better the third day. The day I made it, the sauce did have a slight Italian taste. The longer the favors melded, the more the sauce tasted like enchilada sauce. We loved it and will make it again, but I'll tweak it. Maybe I will add 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of tomato paste instead of 2 cans of tomato paste so the sauce will not be as thick. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I knew without reading the reviews that tomato sauce and 1 1/2 cups water would make this too runny, and I also figured as other reviewers mentioned that the author probably meant 6 oz can of tomato paste, not sauce, since it comes in 8 oz. I used 1 6 oz can tomato paste and 2 oz.cans of sauce,no water, and doubled everything else to make a larger batch, omitting basil because that didn't sound Mexican to me. I increased both cumin and chili powder to strive for a more Mexican flavor. I really liked this sauce, and it will be my go to with the changes I made. Wether authentic or not, I really can't say, but most of the kids liked it so, there you go. It's a keeper with the changes I suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
The family liked this enchilada sauce. I left out the salsa and basil, and did not add the salt. My chili powder contains salt. Used Mexican oregano. I will use the recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckytuna
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I loved this sauce. I added chicken broth instead of water and a T. of masa to thicken. Then add 1 T. sour cream stir well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States