Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I forgot the basil when cooking and I only used a 1/4 cup of chili powder, but I will use 1/3 cup next time. Also I didn't have a green pepper, so I used a red one. I pureed the sauce after it had cooled down a bit. This sauce may not be authentic, but it is excellent. My guests thought so, and so did I. I used it with my black bean and cheese burritos. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe is what we call gringo food. All you need is to soak a few red chile pods, preferabally from Hatch, New Mexico, in hot water. Put into the blender with onions, garlic, and salt to taste. Puree, and then put in a strainer and squeeze out the juice and viola enchilada sauce! The recipe has too many ingrdients and taste like it came from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canutillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Others may not think this is authenic, but as far as taste, it is absolutely wonderful on enchiladas. Of course, I doubled most everything and simmered until reduced. All the children love it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddoginpink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riddle, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I really loved this sauce! I had been looking for a good enchilada sauce in the store and could never find a good one. It was always bitter. I followed this recipe execept I did use tomato paste instead of sauce and I did add a little sugar and added a little extra chili powder. My family loved their beef enchilada's alot more with this recipe. I will use it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettycrocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Used the tomato paste instead of sauce and chicken broth instead of water.... simmered it all day... Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
We loved this sauce!! So simple to make and followed the recipe to the letter. I did let "brew" on simmer about double the time suggested. I also doubled the recipe to use with the Chicken Enchiladas I recipe found on this site. What an awesome pairing!! I admit I was skeptical about the "Italian" spices but happily (and somewhat relieved) found they combined and brewed just perfectly with no resemblance to pasta sauce. If you use this recipe to make the one mentoned, may I suggest also preparing the Mexican Rice II recipe and the Canned Corn Casserole recipe also found on this site for an awesome, complete mexican dinner. Also, if you start wit boiling chicken first in water seasoned with chicken bouillon or chicken broth, you can use the same stock water for preparing each of these recips from that point forward using the stock where water is mentioned. :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
YUM! I couldn't believe how easy this is to make, or how delicious it was! So much better than the canned stuff-- I will be using this recipe from now on :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Great recipe! Smelled exactly like the canned original one, tasted better and best of all: It was home made (so less preservatives and artificial stuff)! I omitted the dried parsley, as I didn't have any. I used it with Cottage cheese chicken enchiladas from this site - it rocked! Thanks a lot for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
SO YUMMY!! I will never buy the canned enchilada sauce again. It makes dinner so easy. I buy the frozen chimichangas from Costco and make this recipe while they're in the oven. It makes a really quick delicious dinner in under thirty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I added a small can of tomato paste and left out the chocolate and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States