Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very watery and tasted like Italian spaghetti sauce maybe more like a stir in like a Tossed cold salad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Delicious flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoTakeoutForMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was a terrible enchilada sauce!! The flavoring is more like an Italian sauce. My first clue was when it called for oregano and basil. Most authentic enchilada sauce recipes do not include these ingredients. I was in a hurry to make dinner for a large group and had accidentally saved this sauce to my recipe file. In my haste I used this sauce recipe instead of another authentic recipe I usually use. (Clearly I should have payed better attention to the ingredients the recipe called for. I take responsibility for that!) It completely ruined my dinner. If you are looking for an authentic sauce recipe, THIS IS NOT IT!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
We used a can of tomato sauce, and it tasted like nothing at all. We had to add a bunch of stuff to it to make it taste close to decent. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Really good. I used this on shredded beef enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I forgot the basil when cooking and I only used a 1/4 cup of chili powder, but I will use 1/3 cup next time. Also I didn't have a green pepper, so I used a red one. I pureed the sauce after it had cooled down a bit. This sauce may not be authentic, but it is excellent. My guests thought so, and so did I. I used it with my black bean and cheese burritos. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe is what we call gringo food. All you need is to soak a few red chile pods, preferabally from Hatch, New Mexico, in hot water. Put into the blender with onions, garlic, and salt to taste. Puree, and then put in a strainer and squeeze out the juice and viola enchilada sauce! The recipe has too many ingrdients and taste like it came from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canutillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Others may not think this is authenic, but as far as taste, it is absolutely wonderful on enchiladas. Of course, I doubled most everything and simmered until reduced. All the children love it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddoginpink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riddle, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I really loved this sauce! I had been looking for a good enchilada sauce in the store and could never find a good one. It was always bitter. I followed this recipe execept I did use tomato paste instead of sauce and I did add a little sugar and added a little extra chili powder. My family loved their beef enchilada's alot more with this recipe. I will use it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettycrocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Used the tomato paste instead of sauce and chicken broth instead of water.... simmered it all day... Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States