Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Used this recipe in place of a jarred sauce that another enchilada recipe called for. It was pretty similar to one that I have written on a 3x5 card, but was unable to find it so I was on a search and came across this recipe. The only change I made to this recipe was using vegetable broth in place of the water and used a whole can of tomato sauce .. Will keep this for future reference .. thanks for the recipe ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I first tried this recipe a long time ago when I was visiting my girlfriend in Germany and wanted to make her Enchiladas Rojas, and the closest thing I could find to jarred/canned enchildada sauce in the supermarkets there was an Old El Paso enchildada kit. Just no. While I agree with others that this is not perfectly authentic, it was close enough and tasted quite good, just a bit different than I was used to. But while my Mexican dad would probably find it lacking, I grew up with red sauce and never actually learned to make it, so this recipe was a good start. I thik of it more as a good recipe for a base sauce that I tweak to taste more how I want. It's a very flexible recipe, in that it can take the tweaking and is just about always improved. So obviously, I have adjusted it over time. Like others, I have used tomato paste and chicken broth to soup the flavor up a bit. To make it thicker, I let it simmer to let the liquid evaporate and concentrate the flavor. I put more parsley than the recipe calls for. Also, I add a decent amount of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Aguilar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I needed a quick sauce for cilaquiles. This went together fast with ingredients I had. I used a New Mexico chili blend, simmered it down a bit and pureed it smooth. Maybe not "authentic" but it certainly is good. I'll definitely make this again and can't wait to try it on enchiladas. It has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leetonia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
We loved it! We substituted fresh minced chives, as well as fresh basil and oregano. Used only 1/2 cup water and used picante sauce instead of salsa. This was impressively easy and I couldn't be happier with how wonderful this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Love love love this. But more so with the changes made from other reviewer suggestions. I used tomato paste mainly because I would have had a half can of sauce left (doesn't come in 6 oz can). Used chicken broth instead of water and added one chipotle pepper. I can only repeat what everyone else stated, I will never used canned sauce again. Thank you for excellent Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I followed mbphilli's recommendations and I am glad I did so. The sauce was defiantly better the third day. The day I made it, the sauce did have a slight Italian taste. The longer the favors melded, the more the sauce tasted like enchilada sauce. We loved it and will make it again, but I'll tweak it. Maybe I will add 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of tomato paste instead of 2 cans of tomato paste so the sauce will not be as thick. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I knew without reading the reviews that tomato sauce and 1 1/2 cups water would make this too runny, and I also figured as other reviewers mentioned that the author probably meant 6 oz can of tomato paste, not sauce, since it comes in 8 oz. I used 1 6 oz can tomato paste and 2 oz.cans of sauce,no water, and doubled everything else to make a larger batch, omitting basil because that didn't sound Mexican to me. I increased both cumin and chili powder to strive for a more Mexican flavor. I really liked this sauce, and it will be my go to with the changes I made. Wether authentic or not, I really can't say, but most of the kids liked it so, there you go. It's a keeper with the changes I suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
The family liked this enchilada sauce. I left out the salsa and basil, and did not add the salt. My chili powder contains salt. Used Mexican oregano. I will use the recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckytuna
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I loved this sauce. I added chicken broth instead of water and a T. of masa to thicken. Then add 1 T. sour cream stir well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
easy, tastes good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States