Red Curry Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Gosh -I don't think I've ever been the first to rate a recipe before! This was good, but I will have to tinker with it a bit to make it great. The heat and curry flavor were very mild (I had to make my own red curry powder, as I couldn't find it anywhere local so I guess that could be part of the problem, although with the ingredients in the mixture you would think there would have been more of an asian curry-type flavor), so next time I think I will increase either the curry paste or the powder - don't think I should increase both initially or I could have something that only my husband will be able to eat! I also did not puncture the steak before marinating, as I find that it tends to dry out on the grill when I do that (it could be the way DH grills his steak, but we grill a lot of flank steak, and never have a problem with it drying out), so I marinated it for 2 hours at room temp - so next time will increase that to 4 hours or so, or maybe overnight in the 'frig if I get started early enough. The fresh basil at the stores looked too sad to use, so I used about a 1/2 tsp dried in the marinade - couldn't really taste the basil, but I'm sure it added some depth to it. I was also thinking I might try adding a little lime juice, as it seems to me that a lot of Thai recipes have some sort of lime, or kaffir lime leaves, in them. Thanks Chef John for a very good starting point - we will be trying this again - and next time with the fresh basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Everyone loved the slightly spicy, complex flavor of this flank steak, and I loved that it didn't have to be marinated overnight! I also liked that there was no added oil in the marinade to add calories and cause flare ups. Six minutes on the first side was right on the money. I did slightly less when I turned it over, and ours was pink in the middle, just the way we like it. I placed the fresh basil on the steak as the recipe indicates, but the grill was so hot it dried out very quickly. We didn't get much of the basil flavor at all. Now that I have all the ingredients, I will make this again. Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was SO good! Made it for my husband for Father's Day and we both absolutely loved it! I couldn't find flank steak or red curry powder, so I used a London Broil and a little extra red curry paste. I also marinated it overnight since I had time to do so. Cooked it until it was 130 degrees in the center, as the recipe suggests, and it came out a perfect medium. The steak was absolutely delicious and easy to make, and we will definitley make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Good unique flavor. Marinaded for two days and then due to rain broiled in oven. 4 min on one side and 3 on the other. Included basil in my marinade and then added more to top of meat after patting meat dry prior to cooking. My cook time resulted in nice pink center. Next time might do 3 min on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
THANK YOU CHEF JOHN!!! My husband (the good cook in our family) made this last night and we devoured it. Recipe says it feeds 4 but I know we love flank steak and THIS ONE was just superb. Very succulent and no single flavor overpowering at all. I ate only this and fresh garden tomatoes, and left the corn on the cob for leftovers. This is worth hunting down the ingredients--Chef John has done it again! 10 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYKENNEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I prepared this recipe last night using skirt steak as it usually is a little more tender than flank. The curry was excellent and you can make it as hot or mild as you like. I simmered the reserved marinade and served it on the side. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
It was ok. Used only curry powder as I didn't have the curry paste, but having used a red curry paste before, I would be hesitant to say that my not using it altered the recipe by tons... Still tastes good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
We loved the Thai flavors in this marinade! It wasn't too spicy, but had a nice kick to it. It was a nice change from the soy sauce based marinades, and I liked the fact that there was no oil in it. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Very bland. Once again "chef" John is over rated as a cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I omitted the fish sauce, I had a London broil on hand so I used that and marinated over night and all day. Thanks to rain and wind I cooked it on the broiler very good flavor every one liked it. I will try this again when the weather drys out and we can fire up the grill. Up Date I finally was able to fire up the grill, so much better when you do it on the grill. This steak went from we liked it to we REALLY liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States