Red Currant Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is delicious! I only wanted (and had enough berries) for 1 jar so I changed the serving size to 16 and it was perfect! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 1 3/4 because I didn't want it to be too sugary. It says to only use 1/4 cup of water and I was about to add more but I'm glad I didn't, at the end when you pour it in the jar it has just the perfect amount for my jar (only a little extra just perfect for a little taste test). Also at the beginning, instead of a jelly/cheese cloth, I just used a wire strainer and let it drip out (after I couldn't drip anymore juice out, I just mashed it down with a spoon) into a pot. Great recipe and can't wait for next year when our lovely currants come out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe. One thing: leave the stems on the currants when you cook them, enhances the flavor and you won't need to add pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
good recipe, but I have always filled as close to the top as possible, wiped the rim with a clean hot damp cloth, then turned jars upside down after securing lids and bands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I've never made jelly before. This was fun, easy and tastes wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsGart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Outstanding Jelly!!! I was only able to get just under 3 pounds of currants from my bush so I had to modify the measurements some but it turned out great. First time making jelly and after having this jelly I can safely say that I will never buy another jar of jelly from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBessel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I was hard pressed to get that last cup of liquid from 4 pounds. Next time I would add more water. The 7 cups of sugar seemed like a lot to me but I followed the recipie this first time around. Next time would proably cut down by 1 cup and possibly 2. What I didn't like is that the Certo packets are 3 oz so you have to cut into the second packet and throw out the balance. Maybe next time I'd just go with the 3 oz packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I use roughly the same recipe, but sometimes when I have an abundance of currants, I need to freeze. In this case remember to use less water from frozen currants. Also good to note that when picking the currants, take stem and all. The currants lose their own pectin if taken from the stems when picked. Since the berries are strained anyway, the stems can be strained then:-) All tips provided by a 94 year old friend who gave me her currant bushes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This recipe worked fantastically even without the added pectin! I haven't had it fail yet. I also add herbal flavourings such as rosemary during the cooking phase. It adds a nice touch to the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is the exact recipe that is included in the Certo brand liquid fruit pectin box. I actually used 5 cups of sugar instead of 7 and it's still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe! This was my first time using liquid pectin and I like it alot. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States