Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I've made this many times, so good. I do omit the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I wasn't sure what to expect with the sweet onions and the tangy olives ... but I loved it! Yum! I didn't add the salt as the previous reviewers suggested... perfect sweet salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
excellent recipe and reviews. DOn't forget to rinse the capers and olives to get rid of the briny taste. i served this with seared diver scallops, a rice pilaf and some french bread. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JC Dill
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made this dish with Rainbow Chard and Spanish olives. Based on the other reviews, I skipped the salt. It came out great and received raves from my sweetie - given that he worked in the restaurant industry for 20 years, that's some accomplishment. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was delicious. I cut out the olives (don't like 'em) and the capers (didn't have any), added garlic ('cause I love it) and it was still wonderful. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This ended up way better than I thought. I had never cooked or eaten swiss chard before, but I love carmelized onions. I'm also not a big olive fan (though I like olive oil, go figure) and couldn't find any capers. So I cut out the olive, cut out the capers. The salt I just eyeballed, and more or less only used slightly more than I'd use for any vegetable sweat. I couldn't believe the flavor and the aroma, I could have eaten a whole pan of it. My wife loved it too. This one will become a regular. One thing I'd advise is to make sure you don't rush the onions. It can take a long time (longer than is indicated on this recipe) to properly carmelize them on low heat, and if you put them on high heat they'll just burn. So don't be suprised if it takes 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Used 1/2 the lemon and was better. Also used 1/2 lime which gave it a sweeter taste. Yum! Also, instead of sugar, used a tablespoon of fresh juice from grapes and another day used unsweetened applesauce to caramalize onions. Worked great! Also tried recipe with collard and kale. Was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Awesome!! Just wish I could find more chard recipes this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I really liked this, and so did my husband. Our kids hated it, but I knew they would, so I didn't waste much of it on them! I didn't have any olives so I left them out, but otherwise prepared just as instructed. Next time, I think I'll add some crushed garlic to the onion as it caramelizes, just to deepen the flavor a bit. Excellent recipe, and a great way to cook swiss chard, which could likely be adapted to spinach, collards, or any leafy green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
My family now LOVES red chard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochamix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States