Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I tried this last night and thought it was horrible. I really do love wilted greens and cook them in many ways, but wanted to find a new way to cook them and thought this sounding interesting. Unfortunately, it was just weird. I used a rather large bunch of chard, and I found that this was way too sweet. I didn't have any olives, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as written. Maybe the saltiness of the olives would have helped a bit, but I'm not sure. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this as a side for Christmas dinner (with a beer can chicken, pork loin pot roast, mashed taters, spinach lasagna, tri tip, broccoli and a green salad). Everyone that tasted it really liked it. My father in law asked for the recipe. I doubled the recipe except held back the extra capers. Carmelizing the onions on high heat is the trick. I also sliced the olives as opposed to keeping them whole. Great way to get your leafy greens and introduce folks to a new veggie they may not have tried before! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakin mamabear

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I thought it was so/so only because I hate wilted greens. my boyfriend loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Easy quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
it was ok. needed more than 1 bunch of chard to balance out the olives and capers - or perhaps my stores bunches are smaller than others. As it was, the olives and capers (both things I love) were completely overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was wonderful! I omitted the olives and capers, and added water chestnuts instead. It was absolutely delicious! This was my first time ever having chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jensturn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I just made this with my rainbow chard from Full Circle Farms. Thanks for the simple yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Fantastic! I started out trying it because I had a surplus of chard in the garden, and knew I should eat some greens; I ended up staring down at my plate and wondering where all the chard went. This is the first cooked chard I have ever truly enjoyed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I used too much sugar the first time but the second was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
At first the ingredients seemed really weird, but there were so many great reviews, I just had to try it. DELICIOUS. This will be one of my new 'go to' recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Gollinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States