Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This ended up way better than I thought. I had never cooked or eaten swiss chard before, but I love carmelized onions. I'm also not a big olive fan (though I like olive oil, go figure) and couldn't find any capers. So I cut out the olive, cut out the capers. The salt I just eyeballed, and more or less only used slightly more than I'd use for any vegetable sweat. I couldn't believe the flavor and the aroma, I could have eaten a whole pan of it. My wife loved it too. This one will become a regular. One thing I'd advise is to make sure you don't rush the onions. It can take a long time (longer than is indicated on this recipe) to properly carmelize them on low heat, and if you put them on high heat they'll just burn. So don't be suprised if it takes 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was delicious. I cut out the olives (don't like 'em) and the capers (didn't have any), added garlic ('cause I love it) and it was still wonderful. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I have never been a fan of what I call "healthy vegetables". But, I have to admit that this was good tasting. My husband just loved the taste of the dish. No capers, kept everything else but added no salt. The Kalamata Olives were salty enough and they flavored the dish just right. We found fresh Kalamatas in an open deli case next to the meat dept. in our natural foods store. Be sure to let the onion carmelize, it helps with the taste of the dish. Easy to prepare, good tasting, even to me! Overall, a great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is now my favorite side dish ever! Since the greens have such a strong flavor, the smokiness of the olives and the acidity of the lemon were perfect! My husband and I ate it all in one sitting - but hey, it's greenery, you just can't feel bad about it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
YUM! This is fantastic and so quick! I used the leftovers in an omlette the next morning - also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
excellent recipe and reviews. DOn't forget to rinse the capers and olives to get rid of the briny taste. i served this with seared diver scallops, a rice pilaf and some french bread. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Used 1/2 the lemon and was better. Also used 1/2 lime which gave it a sweeter taste. Yum! Also, instead of sugar, used a tablespoon of fresh juice from grapes and another day used unsweetened applesauce to caramalize onions. Worked great! Also tried recipe with collard and kale. Was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I've got to say, I have a REALLY hard time eating leafy green things. I hate green salads; mainly eat greens either cooked or juiced. So when I give this recipe five stars, it's more like ten stars when adjusted for my extreme-anti disposition. I made it with these ingredients exactly. The only change I made was to slow-caramelize the onion (took 30-40 minutes). I'm not a huge olive, caper or salt lover, but man the sweet-bitter-salt-acid combo is PERFECT. This would be pretty average if you took out one of those elements, I do believe. I ate some by itself, and some spiced up w/ pepper flakes on a little chipotle tortilla with pepper jack. Both ways were marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
A friend found this recipe for me after I tried swiss chard for the first time. She has a great recipe eye, because my husband declared this the best chard I have ever made! I served it with grilled, thick cut, brined pork chop and mushroom couscous. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Terrific. I didn't have capers on hand, so I did without, but it was a perfect blend of salty and sweet and the chard flavor was subdued and delicious. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States