Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a nice change from plain steamed greens. I left out the olives and salt...the capers added plenty for my taste. I think it would be good with other greens as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
WOW! This is really flavorful. Let the onions cook for awhile as other recipes have suggested. I only salt & peppered to taste at the end of the recipe, as I agree that with the capers and olives it could be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I thought I would try this because of all the great reviews, but I didn't really like it. It was okay, but it was not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
As I occasionally do, I craved greens this morning, went out to my tiny garden and picked a bit of chard, to try this recipe. I had no olives on hand and my chard was green, but followed the rest as written. I really liked it! Wonderful flavor combination. This was the first time I have eaten chard. I will try other greens cooked in the same manner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was very good. My fiance and I ate the whole thing. Alterations- I used a red onion and lime instead. I had no capers or olives, next time I look forward to adding the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lory Broderick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Oh wow. This was excellent. My husband, who HATES veggies reeeeally liked it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harvestdance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
too salty. Just an avarage recipe. not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Thank you to whoever posted this recipe! We get a farm share each year and one of the things we end up with tons of is chard. Other than cooking it with a little butter or oil, it was tough coming up with something to do with it, plus we didn't really enjoy it. This recipe is so yummy and has a great combination of different flavors! The onions, olives and capers are such great additions that the focus is taken off the fact that you're eating chard. LOL! I do recommend tasting it before you add the salt because the olives & capers add a bit on their own. Also get your onions nice and carmelized before adding them - it makes the dish sweeter. Because of this recipe, we now enjoy chard instead of just tolerating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Like a few people mentioned below, I left out the olives and capers, because I did not have them on hand. I made sure to add enough kosher salt to season the dish though. Even without the olives and capers this was a DELICIOUS way to serve swiss chard. The tiny bit of brown sugar goes a long way, and is the perfect amount to season the onions and chard. I went the extra mile and added sausage bits and halved cherry tomatoes to the dish, then served it over bow-tie pasta. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
As others suggested I let the onions cook and caramelize really well before adding chard. I omitted olives since I don't like them. Entire familly including one of my kids really enjoyed this (the other refused to try it). Even DH who generally does not like chard ate it, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States