Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This dish has all the right components but it's reeeeeally salty. Next time I would use either capers or olives, but not both, and cut the sea salt altogether, or just use one shake of the shaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is a very good combination of flavors. I made it with senposai, which is similar to chard but has a bright yellow rib. The amount of sweetness was just right, balancing the tang of the lemon (I used half) and the saltiness of the olives and capers. My only complaint is I didn't have enough greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This dish has wonderful flavors and is a great twist on traditional chard preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Delicious! I didn't have any olives, so unfortunately I had to do without. Still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenTeaPirate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Judging from the other reviews...I am in the minority here as far as rating this recipe goes....I think that it took a good amount of time to get the onions just right...should have eaten them that way...instead of wasting all the other ingredients! Sorry, it tasted way too earthy for our likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
A friend found this recipe for me after I tried swiss chard for the first time. She has a great recipe eye, because my husband declared this the best chard I have ever made! I served it with grilled, thick cut, brined pork chop and mushroom couscous. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I have never been a fan of what I call "healthy vegetables". But, I have to admit that this was good tasting. My husband just loved the taste of the dish. No capers, kept everything else but added no salt. The Kalamata Olives were salty enough and they flavored the dish just right. We found fresh Kalamatas in an open deli case next to the meat dept. in our natural foods store. Be sure to let the onion carmelize, it helps with the taste of the dish. Easy to prepare, good tasting, even to me! Overall, a great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is now my favorite side dish ever! Since the greens have such a strong flavor, the smokiness of the olives and the acidity of the lemon were perfect! My husband and I ate it all in one sitting - but hey, it's greenery, you just can't feel bad about it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
i added some minced garlic, and i only had capers, and definitely didn't need added salt. i never cooked with chard, but had it delivered with a weekly organic produce delivery, and this was really surprisingly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Delicious recipe! I omitted the olives, but do look forward to making the complete dish very soon. (Tonight, the chard served as a bed for Sesame Tilapia from this site, a superb combination which my family adored -- olives might've been overkill.) Thanks sooooooooo much, Syd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States