Red Chard and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by khhicks
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made this exactly as stated, it was delicious! I put over sliced polenta and put a little Parmesan on it. I can see where if you don't like olives or capers you might not like it. Next time I will rinse the capers, forgot but rinsed the olives. I might cut back a little on the lemon juice next time and see how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Wow! So so delicious!! The caramelized onions made this dish extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Easy and quick. I served it over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I agree it doesn't need salt when using capers. I added heart of Palm - out of olives- and it was delightfully different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I'm not a fan of swiss chard, but this recipe at least made it eatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gentry, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was a great way to introduce a new green veggie into our diet and try something new for my family. I didn't have olives but didn't miss them. I reduce salt to half that amount, but I kept the capers (they are salty enough already). I added a little extra brown sugar to the onions. I only had maybe 3/4 of my chard still good, the rest had gone a little bad, so I SHOULD have reduced my oil amount, but I added too much, so mine was a little oily and doesn't *look* as pretty as the picture, but it tastes wonderful! I kept a few red stems but not all. I added TONS of pepper because we like pepper. The lemon juice was lovely, too. Overall, great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Scrumptious! That picture doesn't do it justice...makes it look like an onion dish. I used daintier sliced onion, but regardless, the flavors are **delicious** together. Very good recipe I will use again and again. Hey, why do people still rate a dish if they've changed more than 50% of the ingredients? (i.e., "This was delicious. I cut out the olives and the capers and added some other junk...") What?! Can you guys just re-enter the dish the way you changed it, and then rate it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Made this exactly as written and it was great! This was my first go at chard and I was slightly nervous but the combo of sweet and salty was just perfect in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I had never cooked Chard before but we loved this recipe. The olives and capers along with the sweet onions were great and they are almost always in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Fantastic! I did not grow up eating greens in any form, so when they appear in my CSA basket, I search for recipes. This dish is wonderful! I made it per the recipe, no substitutions. My husband and I polished off the entire recipe. We'll have this one again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States